We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Uncomparably fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristin D
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Uncomparably fantastic”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It's almost impossible to describe how fabulous Casa Toucan is. It is literally right on the beach. We spent every morning sitting on the pool deck with our coffee, watching the pelicans die for fish. It was beautiful. All the comforts of home were inside. Comfy beds, fully stocked kitchen, plenty of space to spread out, even the water pressure was impressive. You don't have to sacrifice anything to spend time in this paradise. We got a welcome packet before we came to stay, with more information in it than I could've even thought to ask. We were very grateful for that. And any questions that we had, John the owner was happy to answer. We were a little nervous about being in Mexico and not on an Americanized resort, but this was by far the better option. I have never had a vacation as amazing as this one.I cannot wait to get back here. My husband and I are literally already planning our next trip. If you are at all considering Casa Toucan, book it. You will not be sorry.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Kristin & Scott -

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us at Casa Toucan. We enjoyed having you as our guests and only wish that you could have stayed longer. Puerto Morelos is a magical little town, and we fully agree that a stay in a vacation rental like Casa Toucan is so much more fun, interesting, and genuine than staying at an Americanized all-inclusive resort. And cheaper too! Come back to see us soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Within a hour of being there, I was already dreading the fact that I was going to have to leave. I not so secretly wished that my flight would be canceled and I would be forced to stay a few more days. If you're looking for a mega-touristy resort, this is not the place for you. However, if you want feel of stepping out of the front door to your own home into a little piece of paradise, this is absolutely the place for you. You are still just a 20 minute trip from Cancun or Playa if you want to make a day trip. There are three "apartments" on the property, but it's laid out so that everyone has their own personal space. You can step through the back gate and directly onto the beach with the ocean about 15 yards away. It's private and peaceful, yet less than half a block from the town square with many shops and restaurants available. Great place. I can't wait to get back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Scott -

Thank you for your feedback. If I could arrange flight cancellations I would! It was a pleasure having you here as our guest. We are happy that you have discovered the "other" Mexico, outside of the walls of the all-inclusive prisons. We will also never go back to an AI. It is too much fun exploring the town and eating at one of our 60+ independent, family-operated restaurants. Thank you for your kind words, and come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMotis...
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (2 couples) stayed in Casa Toucan 1 for only a couple of nights but wished we could've stayed longer. The location of the unit was fantastic! Easy to walk to the grocery store and the many restaurants and cafes in Puerto Morelos. Quick taxi ride to the ADO terminal. The house was perfect size and had everything we needed: kitchen, WiFi, beach access, music/movies for downtime or rainy days, pool/hot tub. Jon the owner was very friendly and helpful. Definitely the perfect spot to stay in Puerto Morelos!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Lisa -

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure having you here. Come back soon when you can spend more time exploring Puerto Morelos and enjoying our 60+ local restaurants! Hasta luego!

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir M
1 review
“We hope to return”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved this place. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath. Very nice place, very friendly people, great location. Friendly little village with great snorkeling, great restaurants and amazing sunsets. We hope to return for a more romantic get away in a year or two.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Please do return soon - Casa Toucan and Puerto Morelos are the perfect place for a quiet, laid-back, romantic getaway. Hasta luego!

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily2898
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First of all Puerto Morales is a great town for a fun hangout. The location of Casa Toucan is perfect if you want to walk around the city and eat at great restaurants. The property is about 60 yard from the square by road and 60 yards to the docks by sand where you can hop on a boat for snorkeling or fishing. We went in the morning and it was easy for us to get a private boat for the two of us. The property is on the water, with palm trees you can lay under for shade once the sun begins to go down. You can either get in the ocean right in front of the property or you can walk about 100 yards down the beach to a buoyed off area in case the fishing boats are busy coming in and out of the area. We stayed in the downstairs portion of the property and it was great, about 20 steps to the ocean and 10 steps up to the city. Great facilities, big kitchen (which we did not use because every restaurant we went to was amazing), and plenty of room, A/C and a place to hook up our ipods which really came in handy. The owners do live on the property and are attentive and nice. They gave us great rec's on who to talk to for snorkeling and suggestions on food and drink. The beach was always clean and ready for a towel to put down. There is a great pool but we didn't really hit that because the ocean was too inviting and convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: None that I can think of.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Emily & Brandon (just kidding Nathan!):

It was a pleasure having you as our guests here at Casa Toucan and getting to know you a little. We are glad that you discovered Puerto Morelos as a laid-back alternative to Cancún or Playa del Carmen, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing