We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Uncomparably fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annmart20...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location...but owner on property is not always a good thing!”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
8
people found this review helpful

I've never written a mediocre review. We are very easy going people and have rented directly from owners for many years in Mexico and in the States and truly have never had a problem. There were ten of us total two couples and our teenagers. We rented all three units over New Years week.

We were looking for walk-to town square and you actually couldn't get much closer. It is very convenient to restaurants, grocery, shops, etc. the main pier in Puerto Morelos is literally twenty steps down the beach from the property. The units are well equipped,quaint, and for the most part clean and up to date. As described and photos are accurate.

The issues we had were with the owners being on sight. We rented three of the four units. The fourth one is occupied by the owner and his wife. Jon the owner was very polite and helpful with information on places to visit, restaurants, excursions, everything! He kept to himself and though always "working" on his property while we were there, he was friendly, always exchanged pleasantries and overall gave us our privacy.

Unfortunately, we didn't get the impression that his wife was very excited about renting the property out since they live there. We felt our every move was being observed and on more then one occasion she rudely spoke her mind. One point in the lease was that there was no one allowed on property besides the lesees which we totally understood, but when a friend walked up to say hello and come onto the property, they were met rudely and told that they would have to leave. Could have easily been remedied politely.
Yet, and this is the part that was so disappointing, that during our week stay, there were many locals on property that we did not know nor invite. Neighbors, local adults, local children climbing up on balconies to see in our windows. We were renting the property though feeling very much like we were intruding on their vacation...seemed hypercritical.

The cats. We love animals and have three dogs and a cat between the two families. But there was nowhere in the lease that stated there are two cats on premise at all times and a stray that comes and goes. If you leave your sliding door open to catch a breeze, you will have a cat in your unit which again, we are fine with animals. We just didn't know about them.

Overall, great location, well equipped units, nice pool, small but nice. Great communication with Jon. We will be back to Puerto Morelos since we love the authenticity of this little fishing village, but we won't stay at Casa Toucan(s).

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Greetings! Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Casa Toucan.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. However, I was very clear with you about the procedures we follow. Your Rental Agreement clearly stated that the ONLY people that you were allowed to bring onto the property were those specifically named in the Agreement. When you arrived, I PERSONALLY reiterated that with you. I do not feel the least bit obligated to "politely" respond to your clear and willful disrespect of those procedures. "But she is my best friend and I just want to show her around" does not change the rules regarding who can come into MY home without MY permission.

Conversely, this is our home and we live here in Puerto Morelos full-time. We have a life, and that life includes regular visits from friends, family, and neighbors. The only exception to this during your stay was the two local boys to whom I gave permission to come swim in the pool, and, contrary to my instructions, they came on the property when I was not present and were very disruptive. I apologized to you profusely for this, reprimanded the boys, and assured you that it would not happen again.

While you were here your entire group seemed to be very content and having a great time. On a regular basis you shared your experiences in the restaurants that we recommended, and you RAVED about the cenote excursion that I arranged for you. The weather was perfect and you spent a beautiful week in a Caribbean paradise. It is unfortunate that you have allowed the fact that you were offended by our insistence that you follow the rules temper your overall impression of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin D
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Uncomparably fantastic”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It's almost impossible to describe how fabulous Casa Toucan is. It is literally right on the beach. We spent every morning sitting on the pool deck with our coffee, watching the pelicans die for fish. It was beautiful. All the comforts of home were inside. Comfy beds, fully stocked kitchen, plenty of space to spread out, even the water pressure was impressive. You don't have to sacrifice anything to spend time in this paradise. We got a welcome packet before we came to stay, with more information in it than I could've even thought to ask. We were very grateful for that. And any questions that we had, John the owner was happy to answer. We were a little nervous about being in Mexico and not on an Americanized resort, but this was by far the better option. I have never had a vacation as amazing as this one.I cannot wait to get back here. My husband and I are literally already planning our next trip. If you are at all considering Casa Toucan, book it. You will not be sorry.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Kristin & Scott -

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us at Casa Toucan. We enjoyed having you as our guests and only wish that you could have stayed longer. Puerto Morelos is a magical little town, and we fully agree that a stay in a vacation rental like Casa Toucan is so much more fun, interesting, and genuine than staying at an Americanized all-inclusive resort. And cheaper too! Come back to see us soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D
McKinney, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Within a hour of being there, I was already dreading the fact that I was going to have to leave. I not so secretly wished that my flight would be canceled and I would be forced to stay a few more days. If you're looking for a mega-touristy resort, this is not the place for you. However, if you want feel of stepping out of the front door to your own home into a little piece of paradise, this is absolutely the place for you. You are still just a 20 minute trip from Cancun or Playa if you want to make a day trip. There are three "apartments" on the property, but it's laid out so that everyone has their own personal space. You can step through the back gate and directly onto the beach with the ocean about 15 yards away. It's private and peaceful, yet less than half a block from the town square with many shops and restaurants available. Great place. I can't wait to get back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Scott -

Thank you for your feedback. If I could arrange flight cancellations I would! It was a pleasure having you here as our guest. We are happy that you have discovered the "other" Mexico, outside of the walls of the all-inclusive prisons. We will also never go back to an AI. It is too much fun exploring the town and eating at one of our 60+ independent, family-operated restaurants. Thank you for your kind words, and come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMotis...
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (2 couples) stayed in Casa Toucan 1 for only a couple of nights but wished we could've stayed longer. The location of the unit was fantastic! Easy to walk to the grocery store and the many restaurants and cafes in Puerto Morelos. Quick taxi ride to the ADO terminal. The house was perfect size and had everything we needed: kitchen, WiFi, beach access, music/movies for downtime or rainy days, pool/hot tub. Jon the owner was very friendly and helpful. Definitely the perfect spot to stay in Puerto Morelos!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Lisa -

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure having you here. Come back soon when you can spend more time exploring Puerto Morelos and enjoying our 60+ local restaurants! Hasta luego!

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir M
1 review
“We hope to return”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved this place. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath. Very nice place, very friendly people, great location. Friendly little village with great snorkeling, great restaurants and amazing sunsets. We hope to return for a more romantic get away in a year or two.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Please do return soon - Casa Toucan and Puerto Morelos are the perfect place for a quiet, laid-back, romantic getaway. Hasta luego!

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing