We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ojo De Agua
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$421
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$590
US$544
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$231
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
US$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$499
US$395
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$643
US$304
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$462
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acamaya Reef(Puerto Morelos)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arrecifes Suites(Puerto Morelos)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
14
13
12
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
13
12
11
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Stay away until they fix all these problems and clean up the misleading property description
Bad smell. Showers have no P-Trap, therefore gas from sewer and septic tank free to travel up the hotel space. They should provide small round rubber mat and instruct visitors to cover drain after the use of shower.
Extremely noisy on most days. People are load, slamming doors several times per hour during the night.
Restaurant is too close. It is actually in the back yard. Therefore deep fry fumes and smoke being pumped in to the hotel’s space.
No "breakfast" - The hotel does not provide something can be called breakfast.
No coffee maker in rooms.
No fridge in rooms of the second and third floors because there were no outlets put in for this.
No drinking water in the rooms. You can refill empty bottles out of a large bottle on the first floor.
No parking. Cars left out on the street.
No screen on windows. Be careful from mosquitoes! Do not open window if not windy from the ocean side.
Nothing to see on TV. TV has no real service. They running Kodi not updated, so it becomes useless.
Swimming pool was always dirty & murky.
The bathroom window in all rooms opens onto the corridor, so odors can travel freely into the hallways. But what is more interesting with this design type, having the window at the hallway side only at 1.5 meter high from the ground, is that any person taller than 1.5 meter can have a clear view who is taking a shower.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Just arrived, and the 1st thing you notice is that the pix in most of the sites (e.g. hotels.com) are taken and selected to show the hotel under too nice a light... untrue to its real image.
Attention at lobby is slow (ca 40 min to check in) and undependable.
I just asked for water (tap water is not apt for drinking), and it came some 90’ later! (And it was a glass of water... coming from tap?). I asked for more water later and they said they didn’t have any (?).. and they couldn’t get any for me. I went some 6 blocks away to buy a bottle of water... so much for the “hospitality business”.
My room and my daugthers’ have NO towels.
A general, foul stench extends through all the premises, probably helped by the fact that all the restrooms open a window to the main aisle (what??!!).
My room, 3rd floor (1302) seems to be under some monstruous engine which switches on and off randomly. The noise is so loud that my daughters in the other BUILDING hear it. Forget about sleeping.
Inbetween the engine’s starts, sleep is also impossible, as the rooms and the aisles are bare-naked, making an excellent accoustic for a concert -not for a hotel.
Noises are everywhere, as no door latches easily, so doors slam several times per hour, making your own doors to tremble and creek!!
I would never recommend or come back to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Matias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

we stayed in hotel ojo de agua for some days around christmas 2017. It is indeed a beach hotel with only some 50 meter from our room to an outstanding beach. also a pleasant beachrestaurant open 10 to 18.
after being inland for maya culture and in playa del carmen and tulum we decided to go back to the calm puerto morelos for a few more days.To our needs the Hotel ojo de agua was the best choice. breakfast is however better down the street.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik_0211-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my family and friends, the treatment with the hotel staff was awful! They were rude with us, they tried to charge us more for our rooms, they cut the light from the whole building, the restaurant and the massages weren't from the hotel (when they told us it was included). It was an unpleasant experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank karitorrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I'm not sure what other people are referring to in their negative reviews. I stayed here just over a week and would go back. The rooms are a great size, clean, good water pressure.

My only complaint would be to put screens on the doors and windows so you can leave them open at night.

Keep in mind this is a no frills hotel, if you're looking to be pampered stay somewhere else. If you're looking for a clean, safe,cheap, beach front hotel stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge in advance and a room on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les_is_more35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews