We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
US$735
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,009
US$859
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$430
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Sur Lodge(Big Sur)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
1,004
102
52
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,004
102
52
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssierra marinfinity pooltree housepacific suiteupper coastglass of champagnethe cliffworth every pennymini barspa servicesupper butterflytreehouse roomspecial occasionocean viewhot tubstocked fridgeheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Took off 2 stars because food so disappointing. We just wanted a nice dinner at a fair price. Not happening. Beautiful natural surroundings for relaxing quietude. Staff and service excellent. Architecture and rooms interesting. The big BUT is the food. Value is not there. Overpriced and underwhelming. Best meal is Breakfast very Fresh and all you'd desire. Dinner was so Disappointing and so overpriced. Dinner cost more than what we paid at "Market" ,which is fine dining (in SolanaBeach). Owners and Chef should go eat at Market to see what a $200.00 dinner for 2 should look like. We also tried sitting in the bar. Turkey Brie sandwich just ok ( Not nearly as good as Jakes in Del Mar for less money) Burger was good but for $30.00 with "chips" -fries were extra no pickle! C'Mon, really? We eat in fine restaurants and don't mind paying premium IF the value is there otherwise lower your prices. We met several people who were returns and told us they eat at other places and feel the food is a Rip off. Frankly, it's the kind of place you don't want to run around looking for dinner out. It's a big problem and would prob think twice about coming back. It's not that the chef is so bad but the value is not there for their exorbitant price point. If they keep this chef then they need to way lower the price point on her food and have an ala carte menu with more choices. Dinner with the current chef shouldn't be more than $100 for 2 with a main course at $30-$40, apps and salads $8-$12, desserts were minuscule impossible to share!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane F, Resort Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for sharing this constructive feedback with us. We are glad to know you did enjoy the grounds, service, and rooms. We are, of course, disappointed you did not find value in your dinner experience.

I have passed your comments onto the management team at Sierra Mar, as well as ownership. We look forward to having you back with us and providing an unforgettable dining experience.

Kindest regards,

Shane Forster
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We’ve been coming here for several years, to unwind and rest. The staff are extremely attentive and caring. Housekeeping service is twice a day. Upon check in we had a small issue with the room and it was solved within minutes. The location and views are stunning. The rooms are eco friendly and blend into the hillside quite well. The rooms are older, but we’ll maintained and I believe all have wood burning fireplaces. The breakfast is everything one could ask for and more.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane F, Resort Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Post Ranch. We are all so glad to know your time here was enjoyable, and that even though there was a small challenge, it was resolved immediately.

We look forward to your return - please do let us know how we can assist with future arrangements here.

Kindest regards,

Shane Forster
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We booked Post Ranch Inn last winter for 3 nights: we had heard so much about Big Sur and Post Ranch Inn that we decided to stay there for NYE 2018.

Many magazines, TV Documentaries, and reviews placed this property as one the most beautiful and intriguing. Suffices to say you expect to be astonished when you pay 2500 USD (before taxes) per night with a min 3 nights stay.

Result is disappointment.

From the rudeness of the woman at the main gate to the staff at the front desk or at the restaurant, you feel continuously that you are tolerated in this property but not truly welcomed. From the owner to the restaurant staff, everybody claims here that the property is "unique", "eco-friendly", "alternative". They don't want to be considered as any other hotel. Truth is that they have become obnoxiously chill. And that you feel deeply this lack of perfection everywhere within the property :
- GYM: machines are super old (and cheap), not maintained and the Gym room gives to a storage room full of garbages;
- LOBBY: there is no real lobby, but a very small welcoming room where you can not seat if 3 guests check-in or out at the same time;
- RESTAURANT: the ambiance is very austere with old metal tables and ugly plastic flowers. And service is terrible: if you ask for a specific table for a diner, you get the answer that it is not possible to book in advance a specific table and when you arrive at the restaurant, see a table you would like to seat at, you are told that the table you want has been "booked". The menu is very complicated, and - that is a personal opinion - much too elaborated.
- ROOM: we had an ocean villa, which are bit old, with dirty windows, and a very tiny shower and bathtub;
- CONCIERGE: I had asked the Concierge in advance if it was necessary/useful to book any restaurant or activities. I had to resend my message twice to finally get an answer.

That's all - though a lot - for the CONS. The PROS now:

- VIEW: the localisation is stunning. The view eery. And you do feel you are in a dream when you look at the sea from your terrace. Same thing when you are in the restaurant or in one of the 2 whirlpools from where the view is breathtaking;

- BREKFAST: the chef has managed to prepare a breakfast that is simply perfect where everything is fantastically fresh and perfectly prepared.

I guess that alone justifies to try this property. It's magic. And searching for whales from your terrace is a unique experience.

Sadly, I think the Hotel has lost its "freshness" and that the owner should put some CAPEX to enhance / renovate the property (the Gym is a shame) and the staff should rethink their attitude. You can't pay 9,000 USD for 3 days and only get "a view".

A.

Stayed: January 2018
10  Thank Alexandre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane F, Resort Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time and energy to share your thoughts with us and other potential travelers to Post Ranch Inn. I personally view all feedback as an opportunity to reevaluate what we are doing well and where we can improve.

Our is, and always has been, to treat all guests in a friendly manner. My grandfather, Bill Post, once told me that all guests should feel like they are being welcomed home, which is the atmosphere we aim to create here. A home away from home. I can see how that can be perceived as 'chill' and more relaxed compared to other properties. Rudeness, however, should never be experienced here, and for that I apologize.

All of your concerns here will be brought up with other management and ownership. As mentioned, we continually look to improve, and are thankful that you are letting us know what areas are most important to you and possibly others.

If I can ever be of any assistance with anything here, please do reach out to me directly. I do know it was a special occasion for you here, and hope that you will return for other special occasions.

With gratitude,

Shane Forster
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed during the time when highway 1 was closed so got the helicopter into the hotel. What an amazing experience. On the way in we went inland and on the way back we took the coastal route with seeing multiple whales.

The hotel is so peaceful and quiet, we absolutely loved it. We took the guided tour of the grounds and it really gave us an insight into how the hotel was created.

We loved staring out onto the ocean and spotting whales swim past.

Breakfast and all the food we had was really tasty. The hotel has cars to drive you to other restaurants, they organised us some electronic bikes (through another firm). Cycling along route 1 for four hours and probably saw five cars.

Truly unique experience and loved every minute.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tank8078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane F, Resort Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Last year's road closure was a special time indeed, and the vantage point from the helicopter was absolutely spectacular.

While we are no longer flying guests in, the peace and quiet of Big Sur is still here, as are the migrating whales and stunning ocean views.

We look forward to your return!

Kindly,

Shane Forster
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the beautiful sunset from the lovely dining room. The waiter was very good and friendly and presented each dish nicely. The problem was that the food was very disappointing. The serving sizes were ridiculously small and my husband was still hungry after the meal. The entrees were quite bland, from my cod to the vegetarian spaghetti and the bison. We were expecting to be wowed with the tastes of good food but left feeling very let down.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank courtney60welles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane F, Resort Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed the setting and service, though are disappointed the food was not what you were expecting. We take pride in the quality of what we serve, though we seemed to have missed the mark here. Your comments have been passed along to our team at Sierra Mar, and we hope the next time you are with us we are able to 'wow' you as we have been known to do.

Kindest regards,

Shane Forster
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews