We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dining off the edge of the continent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Mar

Sierra Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$120
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: High atop the cliffs, offering breathtaking views is Sierra Mar, winner of Wine Spectator's prestigious Grand Award. Offering an unconventional fine dining experience, Executive Chef John Cox presents inquisitive food creations featuring ingredients highlighted by a sense of place and culture. Selections from the award-winning wine cellar enhance the innovative, inspired cuisine.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dining off the edge of the continent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Quite honestly I don't care what you eat here...it's the experience that must not be missed. This restaurant literally cantilevers off the edge of the continent and the view is spectacular. The character is refined, rustic Big Sur. I visit in the day to take in the visuals. I have had lunch here quite a few times, both in the restaurant and on the patio. I love the tables in the corners, with windows on both sides, but the view can be seen from everywhere. The staff is very attentive, the food is delicious and the experience and ambiance are not to be missed. One of my favorite dining experiences of all time!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MooreAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    130
    70
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“The ultimate Big Sur lunch...........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Took a ride to Big Sur last sunday for business and gave the Post Ranch a call for lunch.
The receptionist on the phone was accomodating and pleasant and said come on down.
We were greeted and offered indoor or outdoor seating. It was a perfect winter day with exceptional clear skies and warm weather. We sat on the outdoor deck which provides an incredible view of the coastline.
They brought us the menus and water and gave us time to make our choices. Great wine list and beer selection and it was hard to choose what to have from all the tempting items.
We split an mushroom appetizer, a prawn salad, vegie sandwich and a lemon desert.
Brought us fresh bread choices and a olive, humus, pickled beet tray.
Everything was excellent and service was fine.
Be prepared for a $100 lunch for two but there is no where in the world that could compare........

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
211 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I'm sure this place is great for dinner (and very expensive), but the views MUST be seen in the daytime! Perched high on a cliff, it's a bit of a climb to get from the parking lot to the restaurant, but it is a beautiful wooden walkway through the redwoods (surely they have a handicapped entrance?!). I've never had a more enjoyable lunch experience -- truly dining even though it was salads and sandwiches. I had two glasses of champagne with a baby lettuce salad and a crabcake, and my husband had a lamb sandwich. There was also a complimentary appetizer consisting of marinated olives and cauliflower. $95 for lunch was definitely a splurge, but what a grand way to spend my 60th birthday!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArkieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Really high class food but you do pay for it....worth it though! Great service as you would expect in restaurant of this calibre.
Amazing views over the Pacific Ocean.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank neilos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I ate at Sierra Mar for our anniversary dinner. The views were breathtaking, the service was excellent and the food was beyond memorable. We consider ourselves foodies and loved every minute of it. Go for a special occasion and don't look at the bill!! Just remember the views and the experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ursula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sierra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing