We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and very well equipped property.”
other travellers have booked this property
Kentisbury Country House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kentisbury Country House
Beautiful Queen Room Large, comfortable Queen Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Kentisbury Country House
Beautiful Queen Room
Large, comfortable Queen Room
Gorgeous Queen Bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Bathroom/Laundry Downstairs
Living room
Kitchen
Exterior
Rotunda interior
Rotunda interior
Sunshine in the Rotunda Room
Late afternoon in the living room
Winter in the sunroom
Early summer
Exterior through the birches
Exterior view of rotunda room
Exterior
Exterior
Outdoor dining under the rose arbour
Garden in early summer
Side view of Kentisbury Country House
We love flowers!
Waiting for the Italian lavendar to bloom
Down the garden path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Fiona C
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very well equipped property.”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kentisbury House for a week. We've stayed in self catering properties across the globe and this was the best we've ever experienced. For starters, the property itself is beautiful - situated 10 minutes drive from Sheffield and in beautiful countryside. It's the best equipped property I have ever stayed in - everything you need (and it is a real bonus where there are things like foil, washing up liquid and clingfilm and some basics in the store cupboard. We were on our bikes and the area is well situated for some great day rides visiting fruit, honey and salmon farms, vineyards and beaches on the north coast. Cradle Mountain is 50 minutes drive so we did hike up there (well worth it!) but we preferred Mount Roland which is only 20 minutes drive - a longer but easier hike and more alpine. Much fewer tourists, there were only 4 of us on the mountain that day (compared to the hoards at Cradle). We got up really early to see Playtpus at Latrobe and then discovered they are often spotted just 5 minutes walk from the house.....(sadly only discovered this on the last day! - but would have loved to have spotted one). Melissa and Peter great hosts & lovely people.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The claw foot bath...
Liked least: Genuinely nothing I didn't like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you for the great review Fiona, it was so nice to meet you both. I am glad you made the most of your stay, you certainly covered a lot of ground in your week! Hope the long flight home was alright. Best regards, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply peaceful”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolutely fantastic place. Nestled in the middle of nowhere, you cant help but relax! About a 5min drive to Sheffield and less than an hour to Cradle Mountain, the Country house is perfect for day trips in and around the north-centre of Tasmania. My wife & I stayed with our friends and their 2 young children for 4 nights. Large, clean kitchen. The whole house was clean! Plenty of space for the kids and adults not to walk-over each other. The view from the backyard, overlooks a large wooded mountain range with a river running through. Just spectacular! Would highly-recommend this place to anyone wishes to rest, relax and explore the surrounding areas. Thank you

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Country House and location
Liked least: very slow internet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
And such lovely guests! Thank you for your thoughtful review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W
Elderslie, Australia
1 review
“Quite simply the most amazing place we've ever stayed!”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our stay at Kentisbury was a wonderful experience. The house and surrounding grounds are absolutely stunning - I felt like I was walking into a dream. I could not have wanted more.
The house has the charm of yesteryear, however includes all the modern amenities you could desire. It was also immaculately clean and the furnishings beautiful. We travelled with our adult/teenage children and there was plenty of room for us all to have our own space (even wifi for struggling teens ;) ).
A glass of wine in the beautiful gardens, surrounded by roses and lavender or relaxing with a good book in front of the electric fire. Unbeatable!
Melissa and Peter were perfect hosts-nothing was too much trouble for them. Word for the wise-you MUST try the jams they sell (we bought some to take home and they are delicious). I'm only sad that I didn't get to meet the beautiful chickens :( Next time!
My only regret about staying here was that we had to leave. We actually changed our plans for the day because we wanted to spend every possible minute at this amazing property. We will be back!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was like a dream
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you for the lovely review Fiona, I was delighted to meet you and your family. I very much look forward to your next visit. Warmest wishes, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie2244...
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOUSE IN A GORGEOUS LOCATION!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the pleasure of staying in Kentisbury Country House for 2 nights in July and firstly can I say the amazingly warm and heartfelt welcome we received from Melissa was so lovely! She is an absolute delight, and was a joy to meet and talk to. Now, as for the house, yes it IS as gorgeous in real life as it appears on the internet! We stayed in the middle of winter, and it was freezing outside, but the heaters kept us toasty and warm indoors! We actually arrived on my husbands birthday, and Melissa had very kindly made him a yummy chocolate cake, which was so thoughtful of her. The house is spotlessly clean, and the kitchen was a joy to cook in. The location of the property is a few minutes drive from the little town of Sheffield, where they have a decent grocery store that you can buy all of your food for your stay as this is not provided, but the store had everything we needed and I was very happy to cook every night as the kitchen is very well equipped. The views from the property are lovely, so peaceful and relaxing. You can truly take time to just 'be', and forget the stresses of everyday life. This is a gorgeous house to stay in if you are exploring Cradle Mountain, Mole Creek Caves or Sheffield and the surrounding areas. Thank you so much for a lovely stay Melissa, it was great chatting with you and Josh still tells everyone how lovely you were for letting him borrow your bike!!!!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Melissa's heartfelt welcome and the gorgeous views.
Liked least: Not staying for longer.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
I feel so lucky to have had such wonderful guests, thank you for staying in our house, thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all and thanks for this review and the photos, they are great. The daffodils are out in full bloom now, such a shame you missed them! I do hope we meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurentbo...
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vacation rental in years”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The property is ideally located within 30-40 minutes of Cradle Mountain, Devenport or Burnie. The house is extremely charming, with nice gardens and a beautiful view on the hills around Barrington lake. It is very well equipped and decorated with taste.

The owners, Melissa and Peter are among the most sympathetic people we ever met. They are always trying to make your stay a wonderful memory, giving you numerous tips about the region, proposing fresh fruits and veggies from their garden or eggs from their farm! Talking with them is not only helpful and pleasant but makes the whole stay a more personal one.

You will not regret spending a few nights there, enjoying the beautiful scenery and company, you will probably miss it as soon as you leave ;)

A real gem in a small paradise!

Date of stay: February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we thoroughly enjoyed your company! We are still missing you all. Wonderful to meet you and the beautiful children. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.