We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Can still taste the Flemish beef.'”

La Casa del Holandes
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Temporarily closed. La Casa del Holandés is situated in the center of Madrigal de la Vera, a typical village of the La Vera shire. The building was constructed in 1850 and has been extensively reformed. Since October 2010, the restaurant has catered international and dutch cuisine, incorporating local produce in the kitchen.
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Had a 3 night stop-over here for some rest and recuperation while driving around Spain. Wonderful comfortable apartment with a view of the Sierra de Gredos from the balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can still taste the Flemish beef. Hans and Nieves are wonderful hosts and very interesting to talk to. Had a relaxing time which set us up for the next part of our journey. Would like to believe that we will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2014

Ok, so a fusion of Dutch and Spanish cuisine may sound a bit strange, but in practice it works really well.

The menu is very short which is always a good sign. The beef carbonada was perfectly cooked - cut thin but still perfectly rare - and the croquettes possibly the best we've eaten in this part of Spain. The apple sorbet was impressive too.

The wine list is interesting and very fairly priced as well. If you're in town try this place. You'll like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bmw7Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansPolak, Owner at La Casa del Holandes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your kind words. What can I say? There's a Spanish saying with respect to hospitality which reflects our philosophy; "When you give what you have got, nobody can ask for more" (This is probably a bad translation on my part).

At any rate, we'll continue as we are and we hope to see you again, someday, in this part of the globe. It's been a pleasure to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank dcbsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelHolandes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Casa del Holandes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

1  Thank irenemiguel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016
Google Translation

Thank lareinadelgambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa del Holandes also viewed

Madrigal de la Vera, Province of Caceres
Madrigal de la Vera, Province of Caceres
 
Madrigal de la Vera, Province of Caceres
Madrigal de la Vera, Province of Caceres
 
Villanueva de la Vera, Province of Caceres
 

Been to La Casa del Holandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing