We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Comedy Night”

Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers and Pub
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers and Pub
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

The Sunday night comedy show was definitely worth the 15R to get in. The host is hilarious, and a couple of the comics were really good! Great vibes. Felt like a real community of artists working together. Warning: don't come late ;)

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last year, don't think I will be coming back in a hurry. Don't get me wrong it's in a good location (obs) wise and the lady on reception was nice to us. If your after a quiet night, look somewhere else, this place is above a pub.

The rooms are fairly cramped, the whole building is somewhat dirty, old and worn out. We wanted to use the kitchen to cook, but the facilities are not particularly great nor clean. Looking back I'm not too sure its 100% safe either, as anyone can enter the hostel once inside the pub.

Just not very pleasant inside! We paid 135 Ran a night p/p and after checking out we realised there were cheaper places which were a lot more pleasant

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hostel is over a pub which is great if you're only staying in obz to party but not so great if you want to sleep at all.

The pub itself is a good place for a few drinks and is quite cheap.

I was very unlucky to be staying in a dorm where 2 different girls on 2 different nights vomited on the floor.

The staff were cool but I think they ate my food!

The kitchen is gross!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

One of the safest and backpacker friendliest places in Cape Town!
The combination of a very safe place to sleep, the very helpful, friendly staff + a great location are making this place recommendable.

Entertainment, like public viewing, live music, comedy night, restaurant, braai or or or... are within spitting distance of the backpackers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I filled out the online booking form and called to confirm my reservation a week ahead. the night before I leave they send me an email saying I need to make a deposit and one of the rooms which I had requested is now full!!

So at midnight the day before I leave I am trying to pack and book a new room in a different - and MORE RELIABLE place. Don't recommend it, organization is obviouzly lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Walker184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Observatory hotels
0.4 km away
Observatory Backpackers
Observatory Backpackers
#4 of 12 in Observatory
59 reviews
0.3 km away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 12 in Observatory
160 reviews
0.1 km away
33 South Backpackers
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 12 in Observatory
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
African Heart Backpackers
African Heart Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Observatory
123 reviews
0.1 km away
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
#5 of 12 in Observatory
61 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Sandra's Guestrooms
#7 of 12 in Observatory
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers and Pub

Address: 135 Lower Main Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of OBZ. Ahoy partygoers. The Red Giant Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers and Pub is a Funky,Vibey, Cool Place-To-Be! The doorstep to Obz’s buzzing night life with a variety of restaurants, pubs, shops and coffee bars on the same strip. Dorm rooms, single or double. Get a drink Special on arrival to enjoy in our fabulous pub or at our beer garden under the Southern sky. We offer comfortable beds, friendly service,transport, tours, 24 hour security, Internet access, international calls, big screen live sports , South African flavoured meals and many more great offers. Centrally located, we are 10 minutes from the airport, close to the mother city, beautiful beaches and majestic table mountain.What will you take home with you? An unforgettable African travel experience to add to your memoirs - OBVIOUZLY!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing