We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
4
5
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
5
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2015

this is a top place to stay, nice and clean and the right price. great African Indian restaurant near by---staff very helpful when i was booking my excursions--i did the great white cage diving---went diving in simons town and that was one of the best dives ive ever had--i did the 3 day garden route tour and did the highest bungee in the world---stayed in a place called widerness on the east coast---back to cape town, i did a shark dive at the aquarium with sand sharks----table mountain was amazing-you don't know where earth ends and heaven begins---TOP TIP if you plan to go over to Robin island ring in advance to make sure the boats are running-if its to rough they cancel the boats----have fun SA CAPE TOWN WELL WORTH IT 10 OUT OF 10

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

The Sunday night comedy show was definitely worth the 15R to get in. The host is hilarious, and a couple of the comics were really good! Great vibes. Felt like a real community of artists working together. Warning: don't come late ;)

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last year, don't think I will be coming back in a hurry. Don't get me wrong it's in a good location (obs) wise and the lady on reception was nice to us. If your after a quiet night, look somewhere else, this place is above a pub.

The rooms are fairly cramped, the whole building is somewhat dirty, old and worn out. We wanted to use the kitchen to cook, but the facilities are not particularly great nor clean. Looking back I'm not too sure its 100% safe either, as anyone can enter the hostel once inside the pub.

Just not very pleasant inside! We paid 135 Ran a night p/p and after checking out we realised there were cheaper places which were a lot more pleasant

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hostel is over a pub which is great if you're only staying in obz to party but not so great if you want to sleep at all.

The pub itself is a good place for a few drinks and is quite cheap.

I was very unlucky to be staying in a dorm where 2 different girls on 2 different nights vomited on the floor.

The staff were cool but I think they ate my food!

The kitchen is gross!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

One of the safest and backpacker friendliest places in Cape Town!
The combination of a very safe place to sleep, the very helpful, friendly staff + a great location are making this place recommendable.

Entertainment, like public viewing, live music, comedy night, restaurant, braai or or or... are within spitting distance of the backpackers.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews