We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of THE SWALLOWS

The Swallows from the orchard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swallows from the orchard
Spring on the patio The comfortable lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Swallows from the orchard
Spring on the patio
The comfortable lounge
Another view of the lounge
The spacious dining room and stairs to 2 bedrooms
Welcome to The Swallows
Well-equipped kitchen, including washing machine and dishwasher
Downstairs Single Bedroom
Double Bedroom with original oak beams (ensuite)
Dressing table in Double Bedroom showing interesting oak beams
Double Bedroom ensuite - toilet, washbasin and showe
Twin ensuite bedroom
Twin bedroom ensuite - toilet, shower and washbasin
Visit England 4 Star Award
Play area for young children
The Gate Inn - just across the road.  Local beers and excellent food.
One of the Linacre Reservoirs in autumn
The board walk - Top Reservoir at Linacre
Linacre Wooods in the spring
Henry the Heron in our Orchard
Above Ladybower Reservoir
Another lovely walk
Motor cyclists welcome (secure garage available)
Rock Climbing in the Peak District
A tunnel on the Monsal Trail - walk or hire a bike
Chatsworth House is a short drive away.
The Cascade at Chatsworth House
Renishaw Hall and Gardens, the home of the Sitwell family
Dogs welcome
Another local walk.
Children love nearby Holmebrook Valley Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cutthorpe, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MichelleF...
Comber, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, Mum, brother and I stayed at The Swallows for 3 nights at the end of January and had a lovely time. Barbara was very accommodating around arrival times and had left the cottage open for us to arrive and settle in our own time before coming to introduce herself and explain things like the heating. A home made cake and bottle of wine was a lovely touch.
The cottage is clean and cosy and well equipped with everything you could need. We were in the area visiting my Granny and we were able to bring her to the cottage and make Sunday Lunch - every little detail has been thought of and provided for,
The Gate Inn across the road is great for food also we ate there once during our stay and really enjoyed it.

The cottage is the ideal base to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Swallows
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fabulous cottage in an amazing spot, fully recommended! Barbara greeted us upon arrival and had left a bottle of wine and a home made cake!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you for staying at The Swallows. I'm pleased the cottage met your requirements - I think the pub across the road helped. See you next year. Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaguirr...
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Lovely view. We were received by Barbara with a delicious fruit cake. She was very patient and helpful when I asked a few things that should have read from the kitchen board myself.
Something that guests should know beforehand is that the two bathrooms are indeed ensuite, what leaves the person in the 3rd bedroom, having to get in one of the bedrooms to visit one of the toilets or have a shower. Also, the bathrooms are fitted with zigzag doors that are unable to isolate the toilet noise from the bedroom.
As soon as we arrived we were told that there was no Internet connection. To us this was the most frustrating aspect of such a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and furniture were new and clean.
Liked least: No internet connection...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your comments. Wifi is available in our house and guests are welcome to use it. We are in the process of having boosters fitted in the cottages to hopefully overcome the problem of our thick stone walls. Our website does say that there is no downstairs bathroom and that both bedrooms are ensuite. In an old building it is difficult to provide everything in the space available and that comprise is sometimes necessary, especially when you are working round beams that have been there for more than 200 years. I hope you understand.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcP1352...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Weekend”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here for two nights while visiting family for a weddding. Absolutely lovely property, beautifully restored and renovated with ample room. Set in an even more gorgeous landscape. We arrived quite late on Friday and Barbara had left the property open for us, which was very convenient. She had also left us a cake tin full of some delicious homebaked cakes. Breakfast both mornings was absolutely divine, a special mention to the range of homemade vegetarian items as well as the delicious apple slices. We will definitely be back, as two nights was not enough to enjoy the lovely cottage and all the attractions around the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to have your family stay. I enjoy the challenge of cooking something different, especially using our home grown fruit and vegetables
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14LAG326
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in good location”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Swallows met all our expectations and easily accommodated our family group of three generations over the Bank Holiday weekend. It is very well equipped and furnished to a good standard. Fresh baked cakes and a bottle of wine was waiting for us on arrival. There was plenty of information on what to do and where to eat in the local area. We visited Chatsworth and also visited nearby LInacre Reservoir. We also did several walks recommended by the owners following their own easy to understand written directions. We would all be happy return here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing