We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it so much!!! Didnt want to leave!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dutch Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemmakirk...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it so much!!! Didnt want to leave!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed mon- fri, a lovely barn everything you need it there all ready my family really enjoyed it had a bbq one night, couldnt get enough of the hottub. The local walks were lovely lots of hills though theres some like mini waterfalls to find bakewell is lovely too and full of pubs bonus!! Went into buxton for the day too visitited some caves. Would 100% go back again loved every second some happy memories were built there!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn and do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub was amazing and it was a great base.
Liked least: No staples provided, eg oil, tin foil, tea, but not a deal-breaker and meant we ate out all the time (lovely but not always great for the waistline)!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma R
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing...fabulous...loved it!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Absolutely fantastic weekend away with the girls...the mum's away for a break!! We had the most amazing time. The house was beautifully set out and furnished, very clean and well equipped...spacious and comfortable...couldn't have asked for more. Love the drinks fridge and the hot tub was a dream, even in the rain! The owners were easy to contact and the house keeper was very welcoming in checking all was ok. No complaints whatsoever and have every intention of returning. The village is beautiful, dinner in the local Lathkil Hotel/pub was fantastic and within a stone's throw, walking along the Lathkil Dale was amazing too. Have no hesitate in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub!
Liked least: nothing - all was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.
We work hard to maintain standards at Dutch Barn and try to do everything possible to ensure our guests have a fabulous time. We are delighted that everything was to your liking and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieDBir...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

7 friends stayed here over Easter and we all thought the barn was a lovely place to stay. It is decorated really well and is very well equipped. It is very modern and light with plenty of room in the lounge for sitting and eating. The hot tub is a lovely addition and great after a long walk. It is located in a very pretty part of the peak distract with plenty of walks on the doorstep

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a Review. We always welcome comments from our guests We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the beautiful Peak District.

We hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future.
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis8248
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High quality barn in beautiful surroundings in north Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The barn has been furnished to the highest standard and it is well equipped with everything you could need. Over Haddon is a small village near Bakewell and you can walk straight from the barn on to many amazing walks in various directions. The scenery is absolutely beautiful especially along the rivers Wye and Lathkil. There is a hotel in Over Haddon which serves good food and allows dogs in the bar. The icing on the cake was the Hot Tub in the rear patio area which we all enjoyed using. We were a family of six with dogs and had a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location. Accommodation very high spec.
Liked least: As we had dogs a secure fence round the front garden would have been a bonus.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review . We always welcome comments from our guests.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Thanks
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$177
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing