We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great, drinks a little pricey”

Wagamama Sylvia Park
Description: Food to feed the soul! Asian inspired dishes - Ramen, Teppanyaki, Donburi, Gyoza, Curry, Salads, lots of sides to share! Casual dining in a modern, friendly environment that is family friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: Food to feed the soul! Asian inspired dishes - Ramen, Teppanyaki, Donburi, Gyoza, Curry, Salads, lots of sides to share! Casual dining in a modern, friendly environment that is family friendly.
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We arrived at around 2PM and the venue was busy with people seated both inside and outside. We were seated straight-away and our menu choices took about five minutes to make. We ordered Chicken Steamed Gyoza as an appetiser, 1 large coke, 2 glasses of water, and 1 Super Green juice.

For lunch we ordered the Chicken Katsu Curry and the Chicken and Prawn Yaki Soba (Teppenyaki). The food took around 15-20 minutes to arrive which is about right for the time of day.

The Steamed Chicken Gyoza was nice. It was cooked well with added (soy) dipping sauce.

The Chicken Katsu Curry arrived first and looked well presented and was extremely tasty. The chicken was not overcooked, the rice was perfect (not too dry or too moist) and the curry was about a medium heat so not too spicy to eat. The Chicken and Prawn Yaki Soba was delicious. I've had this dish before but today it was cooked to perfection.The noodles were extremely good, well cooked and seasoned just right. There could probably be a little more meat in the dish, but overall, the one serving is very filling.

The drinks were fine, but the juice was a little on the expensive side. We'll probably omit the juice order next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagamamanewzealand, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Sylvia Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

hi J7979! thanks for taking the time to post your review. we are glad you enjoyed your experience at wagamamas! kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Wagamama Sylvia Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Seriously such good food and really quick service. First time we have ever been and will be back for sure. We selected a variety of dishes to share and every one was yum!!

Thank kftraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagamamanewzealand, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Sylvia Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hi kftraveller2016,
thanks for taking the time to post your review. we are glad to hear you had a great time at wagamama! kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Got here at 1315 yesterday, placed our order by 1330, 2 drinks and 2 mains. After a 30 min wait I received my main. We waited another 15 mins for the other persons main to arrive. At 1415 when I cut into my salmon teriyaki it was raw. We sent it back to be cooked again. They brought it back within 5 minutes.

Although staff were friendly, they were clearly very busy as there is a TreatMe voucher deal on at present. Staff appropriately if you're going to run a deal as not to disappoint people.

Once the raw fish had been cooked, the food itself was nice. Portions reasonable. Lots of noodles and soup, not much protein.

Thank Monique-of-Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisaWagamama, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Sylvia Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hi Monique, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it. I'm sorry to hear about your salmon, but glad the staff dealt with the issue quickly. Yes you are right, we got slammed this day due to the deal and we were unprepared for it. very sorry if you were disappointed, i will be passing this information on and discussing this matter further. kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Nice place to dine, good food, good prices, and quick service. Even though you can cook this type of food at home, its always good to eat out here and enjoy a good meal

Thank Mayana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisaWagamama, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Sylvia Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hi SouthSideKiwi, thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at wagamama! kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I'm usually very positive in my comments but I was pretty disappointed with my recent visit at Wagamama.
The food was really tasty with a good range on the menu. However the rest of it was a disappointment.
The place was dirty, tables sticky, paint peeling of the walls. Waiting staff seemed to have very little training. Meals came out in drips and drabs. I had to go and ask for mine when the rest were halfway through.
Seems a shame it could be so good

Thank trevord612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisaWagamama, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Sylvia Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi trevord612,
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at Wagamama NZ. If you could contact me at Louisa@wagamama.co.nz so we could discuss this further, and makes things right. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wagamama Sylvia Park also viewed

Auckland, North Island
Auckland, North Island
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Wagamama Sylvia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing