We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Joyous”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House and parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House and parking area
The kitchen Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Coach House and parking area
The kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen and dining room with work desks
Upstairs lounge with TV
The bedroom and lounge area with TV
Upstairs lounge and bedroom
Downstairs bathroom with bath, shower and toilet
Garden of the main house which may be used by our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Waterbeck, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Macrae45
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Joyous”
Reviewed 4 days ago for a stay in May 2021
NEW
1
person found this review helpful

Our 5 days at the Coach House were simply wonderful, I really don't know where to begin. If you think the pictures look lovely, wait to you see this beautiful, clever use of space, and the accessories - it really does feel homely.
We arrived to a warm welcome from Susan and ED, and loads of extra finishing touches e.g. bottles of wine and water, a large bowl of fruit, milk, tea, coffee, bread, butter, jam and my favourite - a bowl of sweets.
Although the weather wasn't that great while we there, it was dry enough for us to sit out in the small courtyard, and on our one sunny day, we were invited to sit in the owners private garden when the courtyard became shaded.
The owners really were super accomodating, providing maps, brochures on various points of interest, takeaway menus and information about where to go walking. In fact they thought of everything to facilitate a nice relaxing break.

Go on book it. You honestly will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2021
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful short stay”
Reviewed 5 days ago for a stay in June 2021
NEW
1
person found this review helpful

We were attending a wedding at Gretna and wanted somewhere close by to stay for a couple of nights. Fortunately we found the Coach House on AirBnB. Contact with Susan and Ed was seamless.
Due to Covid restrictions at the wedding hotel we were unable to be specific about our arrival time. Susan was wonderful and very accommodating. As things turned out we arrived much earlier than we expected and were delighted with the Coach House. A really comfortable and obviously loved home. Immaculately clean with the best welcome pack we have ever had. Milk,bread,jams,tea,coffee,biscuits , water bottles, even some sweets in the beautiful upstairs lounge /bedroom.
Really comfy lounge area with Netflix etc on TV.
We were blessed with glorious weather and spent a few hours on the Solway Firth at
Powfoot, a pretty little village about 30 minutes from the accommodation.

Susan and Ed were wonderful hosts and we will certainly return.

Date of stay: June 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax5609...
1 review
“Quiet bolt hole”
Reviewed 8 November 2020 for a stay in October 2020

Quite rural retreat, just what we needed during lockdown, to escape from the city . This was perfect for a long weekend away. Lovely spacious kitchen with dining table and work desks. Sadly lacked a full size oven...only a table top one. I do like cooking so not ideal. Also no dishwasher, which is good when on holiday to get a rest from the kitchen sink. Plenty of hot water though. My fault for not checking these things were there. Lovely upstairs lounge/ bedroom . Only fault there is tv is in a low position in a cabinet, we ended up sitting on the floor watching it. Would not be a problem in summer months when you are out and about and not having time to watch. We had a lovely day out to Carlisle , which was not too far along the M74 , lovely historical town with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. They were open when we were there , so took advantage and had a meal out.

Date of stay: October 2020
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillanM2
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful home away from home - Beautiful location & great service”
Reviewed 20 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Coach house for a week in early Jul 2020 and couldn't have been happier with my decision to go with this location opposed to others in the area. The house offers the perfect work space and living balance and is ideal for someone needing to base themselves in the local area for work or for a weekend/ week break into the countryside.

The facilities in the Coach house rival those of hotels in the area but the personal touch Ed and Susan offer you is by far the best I have ever experienced, from the welcoming brief on everything from local highlights to Netflix's to the standard of cleaniness of the house, now including COVID 19 requirements.

If you are looking for a countryside bolt hole to get away from the rigors of work for a few days then I cannot recommend this location enough - its proximity to Edinburgh & Glasgow (North) and the Lakes & Cumbria (South), make it an ideal location for those wishing to centrally locate themselves and then travel on to other places to explore.

A beautiful place with very kind and welcoming hosts - I cannot recommend this location and house enough. Thank you Ed and Susan for a great week in Scotland.

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilikemagn...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2020 for a stay in February 2020

Stayed in the coach house with my daughter for a weeks break in February. So cosy and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. It’s like a home from home. Susan and Ed are the perfect hosts, they gave us some suggestions for a birthday meal which was excellent, told us about places to visit, things to do, local facilities. Waterbeck is a great location for visiting Dumfries and my recommendation is if you fancy a trip to Scotland book a stay here.

Date of stay: February 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.