We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in an historical setting”
Review of The Ginger Room - CLOSED

The Ginger Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The first thing you notice when you enter The Ginger Room is the stunning backlit glass panel etched with images of bamboo plants. The location in Old Parliament House, Australia's original house of parliament and seat of government, summons a sense of the history of the place. The restaurant is located in what was formally the members of parliament dining room. Tables are set far enough apart to allow you to converse without becoming part of the conversation of the table next door. Waiters are attentive, the food is modern Australian tinged with an Asian flavour. If you want large serves you will be disappointed. The serves are modest but flavoursome. On the other hand, despite modest serves, we found by the time the meal was finished, we felt satisfied and full, not bursting at the seams but content. We also tried wine by the glass so that we could match wines to different courses each of us selected rather than trying to match one bottle of wine to entree, main and dessert. They also brew a mean long macchiato to complete the meal. The Ginger Room is certainly at the high end of the dining scale with prices to match. It is a place you go to celebrate a special occasion, like a decade birthday or an anniversary. We have never been disappointed. Although the dining if formal, you can go as dressed up or neat and casual as you like. Ginger Catering, affiliated with The Ginger Room, also holds Sunday lunches throughout the year in another dining room in Old Parliament House. These lunches are themed around seasonal foods, like truffles and apples. The bonus is a chance to hear the local food producers speak about their produce before being served a course based on that food. It's about carbon miles and food less travelled.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AussieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was a birthday dinner with friends. Most of us had been to the restaurant previously and enjoyed the experience. The food was great (we all had the degustation). I particularly enjoyed the scallops with black pudding and the sesame kingfish and the absinthe, grape and apple sorbet was really interesting. The soufflé dessert was pretty good too but by that point I was feeling quite full.

The experience overall would have been fantastic but to be honest the service was pretty average. Our waiter seemed quite disinterested and made minimal effort. Often he would just disappear and we'd have to wait for his return to ask for something e.g. filling our glasses. Smiling might also be an idea! On a number of occasions he splashed water on one of our guests when filling their glass, he twice removed another's wine glass and didn't replace it - we had to ask for another one. Not sure why he took the glass away in the first place. As we were having the degustation we expected the waiter to briefly explain each course when it was served. That only happened twice - the second time because we prompted him to tell us about it.

Overall, we had a great night anyway despite the poor service because we were in the company of friends and the food was good - four stars for the food, but the overall rating suffers because of the service.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The Ginger Rom provides the normal dinner menus and once a month does fantastic themed lunches. The lunches are very popular and bring together local produce cooked perfectly and discussed by the producers. Always good to see local farmers, cheese makers and winemakers on show.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheryleMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was just ordinary! food was late and covered in salt.. wine was ordinary staff had no idea.. how did they ever get a hat

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank BBLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The food is interesting and delicious. Good choice of dishes. The cheeses are amazing. The atmosphere is refined with the added bonus of a view up to Parliament House. Everything you would expect from a five star restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2011
Thank Travelheaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ginger Room also viewed

 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing