We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I´d stay every time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Exhibition Hotel
Ranked #13 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I had visited the pub several times and decided to explore the hotel this year.
The location cannot be topped. I walked from the station - just one road to cross.
I had chosen the slightly more expensive room and was happy from the moment I opened the door.
A spacious room. Vintage furniture. Windown which efficiently kept out the street noise.
A charming little bathroom.
I do not like the modern chain hotels. I can see what they offer, but I much prefer hotels which stay in the mind for their uniqueness.
Here I felt welcome and I did enjoy the friendly pub in the evenings.

The only time I did not enjoy the visit to the pub was on Saturday night - then the din was just too much. But - and this needs to be stressed - the sounds from the pub did NOT reach the hotel area.

The very friendly proprietors and staff need to be thanked for making this stay so good.

Room Tip: choose one of the more expensive rooms with the vintage furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank blauemadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my mate last weekend,twin room,with onsuite..
Massive room,comfy beds,clean bathroom,great shower, good staff,perfect location.
Booked through expedia,so got a great deal,although the rates are pretty fair any way.
Would recommend without hesitation..

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Nothing is cheap in Sydney. This place is ok, middle of the range
Pop in for a quick drink
Meals are not bad either and ok prices
Staff are friendly and there is usually plenty of seating
Located opposite Central Station, exit of Chalmers street

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights.
Close to public transport .
Lovely clean rooms....
We found the staff lovely and cheerful.
Make sure you ask for the corner rooms ( eg room 4) they are bigger than the others.
Would certainly come back here again.
Within walking distance to Darling Harbour, lots of eateries close by.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Krisy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We picked the hotel as we wanted to be near public transport and fairly central and this did the job. We liked the rooms which were spacious and had a welcoming feel about them - nothing commercial or boxy about this hotel. The bathroom had loads of toiletries and was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay again - the food was fine for a pub and the beer was cheap - what more do you need!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CWAJW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
1,777 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#57 of 179 in Sydney
686 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,156 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,904 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exhibition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exhibition Hotel

Address: 86-88 Chalmers St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: RM427 - RM638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Exhibition Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly opposite Central Station, with direct link from Airport. Only 10minutes from heart of the city, with Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks and city shopping at our door. We have 10 refurbished Standard Double rooms rated 3 star and 4 Deluxe Boutique rooms all serviced by a modern elevator. All our rooms are tastefully decorated, and have queen beds and feature their own ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen television, coffee and tea making facilities, refrigerator, safe and are all serviced daily.Facilities with the hotel, Public Bar, Gaming facilities including TAB, Restaurant serving lunch and dinner 7 days, Beer Garden and Terrace Cocktail Bar and Functions area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Exhibition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing