We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Mordialloc, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is nice, It is a good quiet area of Sydney. It is a great place to stay if you are there for a show at the Lyric. The staff were OK but quite snobbish which irritates me (except the cleaners who were marvelous) . The foyer is quite stunning as are the hallways,rooms and amenities such as the pool. Room service is very expensive. Rooms are nice, excellent beds and bedding, excellent bathroom products and pleasant shower room but the toilet is not very private (you can hear everything) Good tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Restaurants nearby are good but pricey.
The hotel does not provide any real tourist assistance to guests via the way of knowledge and maps etc so get a map elsewhere. I recommend the Harbour Bridge walk, it is stunning.

Room Tip: If you want twin beds or a king bed make sure to check at the desk on check in. Ask the staff to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    162
    48
    10
    19
See reviews for
60
457
45
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed in a Jewel suite for the weekend. the room was luxuriously appointed with good views of the city. It was tremendously large with all the mod cons. Would happily stay again but maybe its a bit too pricey on the weekends.

Room Tip: Avoid in room dining as we found it quite expensive and not very tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Was here in August for business, from the moment we walked in to when we left this hotel was awesome..
The room was so lush I didnt want to leave it to go to meetings. The bed was so comfortable I have never been at a hotel where the bed was so comfy.
Went to the hotel next door to have breakfast was good.
Close enough to walk to the city and was right on the harbor.
Great place would definatley return.
Ps went to the casino nice and bright didn't feel claustrophobic...

Room Tip: All good here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a weekend at the darling and it was amazing.

The rooms had the best features that i have ever seen in a hotel room before.

The room was very spacious as well.

As part of our package we got 2 free cocktails, which was great. We also got free room service breakfast, which was pleasant as they delivered it to our needs.

It was also in a great location within walking distance to darling harbour.

Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokolbin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times when my wife and I need a break from our business and the kids. It is just the perfect place to indulge in some little luxuries and be made to feel special! The rooms are state of the art with the latest in technology and super comfy beds and linen. The casino is right next door (in fact in the same complex of the STAR and there are no shortages of options to dine at or be entertained at the Lyric theater. It is very hard to write anything but positives as we cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask Matt at the poo bar to make you a margarita, they are the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyPokolbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): RM1,024 - RM3,950
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darling is located at The Star Sydney and is a key feature of Sydney’s leading entertainment destination. The hotel was designed as a stand-alone structure, with its own arrival experience, amenities and alluring personality. Housed in a distinctive inverted glass tower resting on a sandstone podium, the hotel features 171 stylish and spacious rooms, suites and penthouses, a 25-metre outdoor heated swimming pool, world-class cuisine and an indulgent day spa. The Darling is honoured to be the first Sydney hotel to be awarded a prestigious Forbes Five-Star rating. A Forbes Travel Guide Star Rating is the most coveted award in the global luxury travel sector. Properties awarded Five-Stars are considered outstanding and are often iconic with virtually flawless service and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing