We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless, but expensive.”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2011

Pros

- Perfectly located in the CBD, good service and friendly staff, outstanding buffet breakfast with a lot of variety, particularly comfortable bed, nice building design, perfectly clean, great view.

Cons

- The king hilton guest room was small.
- Rooms don't block out noise very well. I was awoken by people in the hall one night.
- Price

It's a very good hotel but I think my holiday experience would be more optimal staying in a cheaper hotel and spending the difference seeing Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4sure86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Your satisfaction is of prime importance to us and we strive to ensure each guest has a rewarding and personalised experience at our hotel.

I’ve also noted your comments regarding the noise you encountered for which we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused; and we appreciate your feedback in order to improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for your time and we hope you will return to Hilton Sydney sometime in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,552 - 3,556 of 4,606 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

On a recent short getaway to sydney we stayed in the Hilton. Mainly chosen due to our status in the HHonors system. Hotel is very nice. Reception and entry is good and restaurants were very good quality. Staff were very helpful as we arrived early in tha day and they checked us in and managed our luggage even though the room was not ready (arrived at 10am so 5 hours before checkin). We went to the executive lounge for a drink while we waited and the room was ready early about 12:30pm. The Lounge was very well appointed and good staff. The room while comfortable was quite small for a hilton executive room. It was of good quality but not much space. Also the water pressure in our shower was poor. The room was serviced twice during the day. We had no issues getting a late checkout. The location is great as it is across the road from the QVB shops and a short walk to all the best shops in sydney. It was also only a $15 cab fair to the opera house. Overall a very good hotel with very helpful staff but the rooms are not huge. Lunch in the cafe in the reception is very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for your review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly, with your details from the time of your stay so that we can ensure the low water pressure in the shower has indeed been rectified.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Another high quality Hilton in an excellent location in heart of city. We stayed here after a cruise with Princess to the Pacific Islands. We are regular Hilton patrons and find this hotel provides excellent and warm service. Location is excellent with ready access to underground station and the mono-rail around to Darling Harbour.

Check in even mid morning was efficient and friendly with our room available as HHonors members.
Rooms are as described of medium size with modern fittings and excellent facilities. Bed just so comfortable and excellent clean bathroom. Great view down George Street and across to Darling Harbour. Great gym.

An enjoyable stay and we look forward to returning in July 2012.

Room Tip: We always seek to upgrade to the Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am thrilled to learn that your stay was most pleasant. We appreciate your feedback and your loyalty to the Hilton Brand; and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in July.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were given a night here as a gift for arriving in Australia after a long flight from the UK and wow were we happy. What a comfortable bed after the journey. The hotel is amazing. We had access to the exceutive lounge as well and would fully recommend this too. The location is so central, perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePotatoHeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am so glad you enjoyed a restful night’s stay after a long journey and that you were pleased with our Executive Lounge and location.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The atypical meet and greet by the concierge is all Hilton. Minimal
wait at check in who has everything sorted and the keys were mine. A great view down George street and I was off to the gym. If your a gym freak this is the place for you- it has everything from free weights to pump classes to PT's. With a decent appetite it put on a collar and dined in Luke Magnum's Glass restaurant. The Hapuka with a freychnet Reisling was simple, sophisticated and well priced. PS The Glass team is sensational, well trained and know you are on business and big pleasure. Headed back to what is a smallest room but well appointed and immaculately clean. One point of discontent is no external fresh air though at the 27th floor I would be prudent as a hotel owner!
Well done H. Your Magic model works so well and irrespective of the location, it is always the best home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suitcasewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am delighted that Hilton Sydney provided you with an enjoyable experience, particularly in LivingWell Healthclub and Glass Brasserie; and I have also shared your comments with our friendly team.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
2,022 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#74 of 179 in Sydney
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,300 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: RM758 - RM2,426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing