We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I fear staying in city centre locations as I am a very light sleeper and some traffic noise usually permeates even a room on a high floor. Not so with the Westin as my room overlooked the atrium of the old post office main hall. My window looked directly at the large clock in the tower of the once main Sydney post office which is on Martin Place a traffic free piazza. Another aid to great sleeping was an array of pillows from firm to feather down. I had two nights of great quiet and comfort. The hotel's public rooms face the large open space of the old post office hall that has restaurants and cafes and so presents an interesting , indoor vista. It is about a 10 minute walk from Circular Quay and similar to the Botanic Gardens and Art Gallery. I found it a great and comfortable location.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that faces the clock tower if you want peace and an interesting outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,401 - 2,405 of 3,321 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in a Heritage room which is on the lower level so has minimum view although the room size is huge. We had an entrance way with a separate walk in wardrobe and huge bathroom with separate bath and shower. In the main bedroom there was a massive amount of space with a separate sitting chair and desk and still plenty of space - the biggest room I have ever stayed in a Sydney hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Every now & then it's nice to spend a weekend in the heart of our beautiful city and enjoy some 5 star luxury. We stayed at the Westin last weekend for just 1 night but could've happily have stayed longer.
Check in staff were very freindly and the process was efficient.
We were upgraded to a Tower Suite overlooking the clock tower in Martin Place (which made a nice view). We could hear the clock chime however, we didn't find this to be a disturbance in any way.
The room was very spacious, clean, modern, elegant.
The bathroom was my favourite - a glass wall separated the bathroom from the main room (there is a privacy screen for those on the shy side). You could watch tv or the view outside from the bath tub.
The toilet and shower cubicles were surrounded by heavy frosted glass for modesty. The shower included a rain-shower head as well as standard removable shower head. The white tea bathroom products are also a nice touch and perfectly matched to the decor & ambience of the room.
My only 'complaint' is that the 4 or 5 pillows were all ridiculously soft (saggy), which didn't make for the best sleep I've ever had. Personally, I need a firm-ish pillow.
Overall the room provided what we were hoping for. I'd happily stay at the Westin again (and take my own pillow).
Location wise, the Westin is situated within walking distance (or short train/bus/cab ride) of most Sydeny city sites; Circular Quay, The Rocks, Pitt Street Mall, Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, China Town.

Room Tip: Level 17 Tower suite was very spacious & comfortable. Great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamLF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed in one of the tower superior rooms and I could not flaw it. The room had high ceilings, luxurious finishes, appliances and best of all huge space. The king bed was like sleeping on a cloud (if that was possible). The staff always went out of their way for you with exceptional service. Access to the Good Life gym was fantastic too. It really was an enjoyable 3 day stay. The only downside is the price tag of the food. Fantastic location in the heart of Sydney. Go on treat yourself!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

when I book a hotel I ask for a quiet room and away from lifts and services. Its a pretty simple request. On a slow monday night this hotel decided to put me in a room that sat 2 floors above one of Sydney's busiest bus lanes. Yes I should have requested a new room but when you're unpacked and settled in for the night it becomes all too hard.
To add to the insult I even went to lengths to detail this compaint on the evaluation form. No response was received.

If you're a light sleeper avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 180 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 180 in Sydney
2,067 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 180 in Sydney
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: RM698 - RM2,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing