We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest business hotels in Sydney”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

As a 300,000-mile-a-year traveler, it's my opinion that this is one of the finest business hotels in Sydney, if not the world. The space itself - the old GPO - is spectacularly renovated, and the location is superb - right in the heart of the city without being overwhlemed by (Circular Quay) tourists. There may not be a more pleasant (business) breakfast restaurant, occupying the light-filled atrium space as it does (and I am NOT ordinarily a fan of business buffets). MUCH bigger rooms than the nearby Hilton. It's not cheap, but if you've got the budget, there is IMO no better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,168 - 2,172 of 3,322 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Taxi arrival upon Martin Place, the Westin Sydney looked magnificent. But, the 'would you like to carry your own luggage or should I help you' words from the bellman was a let-down in my opinion.

The lobby area looks great - Though it manages to looks a little 'cosy' and 'intimate' despite the vast amount of floor space.

During check-in, only one gentlemen made an effort to smile at all his guests - the rest were stone cold. Despite double occupancy, one of our passport wasn't required so I assumed sharer was not created - what a policy/standard. However, the procedure for the staffs to come forth, around the desk, to handover the key card was a very nice gesture.

The room is huge in size but feels smaller with the partitioning (wardrobe) and bathroom. The view from our room is great - glad to be back in Sydney with my partner.

An afternoon visit the lobby cafe/restaurant - it was quite full-ish, about 75% occupied. We stood around at the center for a couple minutes before we were noticed. Drinks menu were expensive in my opinion - AUD$24 for a simple cocktail. The cold cut platter taste great - every item on the plate was delicious and we really enjoyed, despite the 20 minute wait for cold food. The constant 'clinging and banging' from the kitchen was annoying.

The suit on the 'managers' seems to be too heavy - they never smile. Every time we stopped them to (give them more money) order a drink was too much hassle. On the other hand, all of the servers were very pleasant, moving fast to clear soil plates off the table, with a smile.

Wanting more drinks by the swimming pool was a wrong thought - It took at least 10 minutes (possibly 5 doors, 2 lift rides, 4 staircase trip and many meters of walking) to figure out where the pool was and it was a horrendous in-door miniature pool. You have to experience it to believe it! We had a good laugh.

We decided to check out the Club Lounge on the top floor which was a great experience. Even though the lounge was small, the Food and Beverage offerings were decent. The lady whom we chatted with was a STAR - she was welcoming, showed us around when we requested and exudes positive vibe. She was the most hospitable person in the hotel we've met.

Even though this was not what we expected from a Starwood property (the robotic staffs don't smile!), I would still credit the hotel for it's convenient location and it's achievement with basic hotel operations (in-room dining for speedy ice bucket and housekeeping for doing a great job and provide clean sheets). It was natural for the bar to be raised when it ranked #11 in Sydney on TA. All in all, Westin Sydney is a great place to stay, especially if you prefer to be left alone in peace.

Room Tip: Great view from Tower Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxJw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

As a SPG Gold & Privilege member, I alternate between Sheraton on the Park & The Westin depending on which hotel has the better offer. On my first stay at The Westin, I was greatly impressed with the very modern and stylish decor, contrasting with the historic setting of the old GPO. The sandstone walls have been restored beautifully. Staff are generally welcoming and efficient and high floor rooms have a great view of Martin Place. Dining at Mosaics is a pleasure after pre-dinner drinks and hors d'oeuvres at the nice club lounge.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room in the Tower Building for view of Martin Place and for modern decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skidog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We are presently staying at the Westin Sydney again whilst visiting family in Sydney, Australia.
We find the hotel service very good but we opted for the Executive suite room with club facilities.
After visiting the club again and finding exactly the same antipasto as 18 months ago I asked to speak to the Executive Club manager as breakfast had been quite poor with Luke warm scrambled eggs. This chat was not forthcoming so we decided to go to the breakfast on the 1st floor at the Mosaic facility. This breakfast is a lovely breakfast with different smoothies, lovely omelettes, OFrench toast etc to order. On paying a partial portion of the bill, I saw that we were charged 84$ Aus per time (for 2 people) that we went to the Mosaic breakfast. To upgrade to the Club costs 110$ a day ! We do not drink much alcohol so our primary interest in the club would be food. You get canapés at night but on the night of the 25th after visiting family there were no canapés. I would think that to have Club privileges would give one an advantage not a disadvantage. When discussing this with the Executive Club manager she insisted that the Club only offers a continental breakfast which if you go and look up the Club benefits ??? That is written there. She waived part of the 3 breakfasts we had had on the 1st floor so we only had to pay 40$ per time for the buffet breakfast. I think if one is getting Club privileges one should have the choice of a buffet breakfast downstairs or the Club needs to upgrade their offering. It is a pity as the hotel is so centrally located and the Suite is like a home - I have reviewed this hotel very positively previously. We are not complainers but when we have had an issue in Thailand previously, the management bend over backwards to please. We told the Club manager that she needs to go to the Intercontinental in Ho Chi Minh and see what a club can offer. This experience and the Executive Club manager's response has marred what would have been a lovely hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try to have the Mosaic buffet breakfast rather than the Club breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnd_beale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Westin is a fairly dependable and consistent hotel on Martin Place - the financial hub of Sydney. We stayed two nights over Christmas, in a deluxe king room, which we prepaid. Check in was easy and quick. Valet parking was available - $64 per 24 hours.
The room was modern, but had no view. It had a great bed, and we loved the rain shower. Some things are getting a little old - there's a DVD player, which seems like an anachronism these days. And the rain shower had a bit of a problem - the second shower head to the side would not turn off.
But it's still a very nice, classy hotel with a great location. We'll stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BrynyJany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 180 in Sydney
4,636 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 180 in Sydney
2,069 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 180 in Sydney
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: RM697 - RM2,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing