We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place, nice position”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reef Resort Apartments
Ranked #87 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Reading some of the other reviews I was expecting something awful, but it's not that bad. It is quite old and has been left to go for many years without any updates including the furniture. However, it was clean enough, the bathrooms were clean, the sheets and towels were clean. Yes some of the windows were dirty, the balcony not very clean and the hallways very sad looking but this didn't affect our stay. The best thing about it is it's position, right across from Mona Vale beach. There are cafes nearby. The apartments are very spacious. It would be a brilliant place if they gave it a makeover. As it is, it is an adequate enough and would suit both short and longer term stays.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonLass-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefResortMonaVale, Owner at Reef Resort Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

In the last 12 months we have refreshed our holiday apartments in the following ways:
New wicker furniture on the balconies.
New bathroom vanities and mirrors.
Updated lounges.
New hotplates in the kitchens.
New cleaners ensuring the apartments and foyers are well kept and maintained.
Our holiday makers are now expressing very favourable feedback and enjoying their stay at Reef Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2016

We visited Reef Resort for the second time in February 2016 and stayed for six weeks which we booked from the U K.
Carl who oversees this resort was very pleasant and informative. He did forget however to remind us to register with the Electicty Board for the length of our stay.
This resort is very beautifully placed, but is looking a little tired, outside. Some TLC is necessary to make this holiday home spectacular.
With such a little effort it could look and feel fabulous.
We would recommend this Resort however for it's overall position so clos to the beach.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank afterbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Our family has stayed at Reef Resort for a number of years now because we love the location and peaceful surroundings. The resort is only a few steps from Mona Vale beach.
The units are larger than others we have stayed in and the balcony is great for romantic dinners or family get-togethers.
We often have BBQs downstairs or in the park next door.
The staff are always friendly, obliging and make us feel welcome.
In all, a great place to stay.
D and G from Kenthurst.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

I paid $216 a night for a 2 bed unkept and run down apartment. The entrance to stair well offered dead plants un vacuumed carpet throughout. Carpet detached in areas and a slip hazard. The apartment had not been vacuumed. The deck had not been swept or scrubbed for months. The windows were dirty throughout. The glasses were unclean as we're the coffee mugs left with previous use and food left on tiles at back of stove top. The towels and bed linen although smelt clean, we're stained and thread bare. Not professionally cleaned at all. The shower had not been cleaned with a hair tie and hair in the drain hole. We requested the shower be cleaned on our absence, bleach was sprayed. In our absence we went shopping for cleaning products...and thongs to wear in shower.. sprayed everything including bedding with glen 20! Soaked shower in bam. If you read their website they claim they have spas games room and tennis court and laundry. Yes they exist but you would not wash your clothes in the run down rusty equipment. The games room was one very sad looking pool table carpet never been vacuumed plants growing throughout the brickwork and dead plants littered the floor. Spa we didn't find but would definitely not think of using unless you wanted to contract some fungle disease you would not get rid of!! The entire place is run down mildew on cracked and un painted walls throughout the entire complex. On checking out, the owner/caretaker arrived in his BMW convertible..! I expressed our disappointment with regard to cleanliness and lack of upkeep with regard to entire complex.. Suggested he teach the 'cleaners' to use a vacuum and a broom.. ! He stated they vacuum one complex each week.., and they had had rain and leaves etc had blown in... ! I told him they were way overpriced for the dismal apartments lack of upkeep.. And total uncleanliness. He blamed the people running the complex who were in the office on our arrival.. Probably his parents! They are sitting on a gold mine here.. Perfect views perfect position... Wrong people 'managing' here. I will be reporting them as they are extorting people

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The place was absolutely disgusting.Lounges looked like they were picked up from the council cleanup.Brickwork falling apart on rear deck which had not been cleaned for years. Plants were growing in the corners of the tiled deck. Kitchen Cupboards and bathroom vanities were filthy and water damaged. Bedding old and barnered. Oven & grill unusable crockery and cutlery old chipped an unusable. Were meant to stay a week and moved out at 7.15am.
A disgusting rip off which should not be licensed to accommodate anyone. An embarrising slum to the northern beaches.

Room Tip: choose a different venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
523 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 181 in Sydney
4,703 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,445 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Apartments

Address: 8 - 12 Terrol Crescent | Mona Vale Beach, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2103, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: RM496 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing