We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in the heart of "Darlo" (Darlinghurst)”
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #95 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights recently and loved it. The pink property is easy to spot and has loads of charm and character. The management is welcoming and helpful - Luke was a honey and had many great suggestions for things to do and places to eat - and my room was quiet and well appointed.

It is far enough away from the craziness of King's Cross, yet a 15 minute walk takes you to Potts Pint, or down to Hyde Park. A little further - but still walkable, is Paddington. Literally around the corner are pubs, bars, cafes and restaurants to suit every taste. A short stroll takes you to the Sydney Institution Bill's, with its well known all day breakfast. And diagonally opposite is Onde, a French-inspired bistro that has been pacing them in since 1996.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed for two nights a few weekends ago. The management are just great and create a welcoming, relaxed, atmosphere where you feel a 'part of the place' in an unobtrusive way. Don't be afraid if you are used to staying in large CBD type properties. Yes, it is a small property but offers pretty much everything you need - but with wonderful, friendly service. The management are fine ambassadors’ for the local area and I don't think there would be any question they could not answer. The room guide - The Silver Book - is full of valuable local information – I have not seen a better room guide that outlines local restaurants / shops etc in any other hotel (and have stayed in rooms all over the world). What these boys don't know about the local area is just not worth worrying about - follow their advice and you will not go wrong. A multitude of fab shops and cafe / restaurants’ are in the local area and a quick 15 min walk to the centre of CBD (if you really feel the need). I stayed in a Grand Room and it was just perfect - beautiful high ceilings and huge opening windows.
Stay just once - I trust you will want to return as soon as possible – I am!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I have to say I was slightly apprehensive about staying in Darlinghurst given it's close proximity to Kings Cross, however, my fears were unfounded and we ended up having one of the best weekends ever! Starting with the Medusa, this hotel couldn't be in a better spot, opposite a pub and the gorgeous little wine bar/restaurant/cafe Ecabar. The hotel is absolutely charming as are Luke and Jess. We had the good fortune to be upgraded to a "Grand Room" and grand it was! It was well decorated and spotlessly clean. There was no bath, however, that was barely noticeable given the fabulous balcony opening up onto the street complete with table and chairs and even a spa! Once the balcony door closed, the noise from the street disappeared and we were treated to a great night's sleep in the very comfortable king size bed. Luke was very helpful in providing maps and directions to places of interest and was obviously very proud of the area and his hotel. My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary here and we are very glad we did. We would highly recommend the Medusa and Darlinghust as a place to stay in Sydney!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Motbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

For a business trip I normally stay at Marriott or Hilton, but this time around as I want to check out the Potts/King Cross area I stayed at Medusa for a week. Boy, that was a good decision.
For one the trip felt like I go "home" every night. The place is quaint and small but big on warmth and friendliness. Luke, one of the hotel staff, was a great source of tips on what to check out and was very friendly and attentive. I need to be back there just for the nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSTolentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This review has been a long time coming, but the experience that we enjoyed at Medusa was super. We arrived quite early on New Year's Eve, and our room was ready, which is great after a 16 hour flight! The room was very comfortable, good storage space, and I especially liked the built in kitchenette, which made breakfast easy. The bathroom was a bit small, but the Aveda amenities were a nice. The guys who run the place are very friendly, will tell it like it is, and didn't steer us wrong with recommendations, etc. Location is good, and far from tourists, but only 15-20 minute train ride to the harbour, etc. Also, you can actually walk (or jog) to Bondi Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YVRReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#91 of 182 in Sydney
72 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#140 of 182 in Sydney
199 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#89 of 182 in Sydney
453 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#6 of 182 in Sydney
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Address: 267 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: RM671 - RM1,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing