We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.”
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #95 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2016

The location is fantastic with plenty of choices for dining within waling distance in leafy classy streets.
Reception was friendly and helpful - even when my wardrobe door came loose on a public holiday they got it fixed immediately.The entrance decor is eclectic- with the wooden snakes in the defunct fireplace you can see they have a sense of humour.

while it seems a bit of a rabbit warren to get tot he rear rooms- reminded me of some Paris experiences - they room was beautiful, funky, classy and overlooked the water feature which was very soothing. Quiet as a mouse too. Comfy bed, quality towels and toiletries. Good mini bar and quality teas and coffee in plunger. I would stay here again any time in Sydney- the price is very reasonable in what is known as an expensive city for hotels.
Walking distance to Oxford Street.Love it!
My departure flight was late in the evening and they offered for me to keep the room all day and have a shower if I needed it, as there was no-one booked in. That's extraordinary service .

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, overlooking the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LolaTS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2016

I stayed at this hotel with my mother for 5 nights. From the moment we walked up to the front door, the hospitality was exceptional. We arrived from our very long trip in the morning and we were lucky to have a room available. Jesse and Luke were super nice with any of our needs and guided us well in organizing our days. The room was super clean - room isn't super big but is sufficient and the bathroom was spacious with a great shower. The room temp was well adjusted ( as it was a hot week in Sydney). We learned how to take the train (from Kings cross, a 5 min walk) to circular quay which was convenient once we learned how to go. Sydney has a lot of hills and with the heat, the train was a good way to avoid walking uphill. There are lots of restaurants in this area. There is a flight of stairs to enter the hotel, however they brought our luggage in and out so no worries! Hotel also offers free wifi which was very easy to utilize.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I really liked staying at the Medusa. The building is beautiful. The rooms are quirky; fairly simple but with all the conveniences (including mini-kitchen). The staff were great - really welcoming and no-nonsense - and the surrounding area is so much more 'Sydney' than when you stay in one of the bigger hotels in the CBD. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ASelinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Jesse & Luke always look after us with five star service.My husband is frail & not only are we greeted at the door with a welcoming smile but a room is always found on the first floor & our bags are seamlessly transported to the room.We have read that the rooms are in need of a little TLC but we have found the beds to be really comfortable(always sleep well) & the rooms neat & tidy.We live 2 1/2 hours away & Jesse arranges for us to park our car 100 metres away in a secure carwash for just $38!
Sydney would be lacking without cosy enclaves like the Medusa.

Room Tip: The ground floor suite was our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I stay at the Medusa whenever I come to Sydney. The building is an old school Victorian terrace, but the rooms are very sleek and modern (also very spacious). The real reason I keep going back is the staff. So helpful and polite, they really go out of their way to make you feel at home in the area. Top marks!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
52 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#138 of 179 in Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#98 of 179 in Sydney
367 reviews
The Old Clare Hotel
#16 of 179 in Sydney
330 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 179 in Sydney
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Address: 267 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: RM722 - RM1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing