We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food , Average wine Average service, plus the cat got my tongue.”

Cottontails Restaurant, Winery & Function Centre
Ranked #5 of 154 Restaurants in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cottontail Wines is a family owned restaurant and function centre that is a part of an overall boutique winery complex. The complex is purpose built to be able to cater for the general public and individual dining - guests dining in the classic elegance of the restaurant featuring an open kitchen & beautiful views of the surrounding countryside & vineyard are ensured a memorable experience. With our modern, stylish, purpose built establishment, Cottontails offers relaxed country ambiance, spectacular views across Wagga, and the highest level of quality food & wine produced in the area and surrounds.
Reviewed 5 March 2021

Food: Average
Servings: Just adequate.
Service: Mediocre.
Prices: Fine dining

Would have given 3 star review if no cat

Scallops in prosciutto, dry & overcooked
Angus Scotch steak very tasty & tender
Lamb 3 finger rack barely warm & too much fat ,
(Something happened to lamb. Came out with other dishes & before it got to table, was returned to the kitchen , only to reappear 5 minutes later, on the cold side)

Outdoor Dining, very pleasant, nice view of the sunset
Wines only Cottontail, chose award winning shiraz, I think a 2016...HUMDRUM
Had much better local shiraz
Wine glasses cheap, indestructible, strange for a winery.

Arrived & greeted by a friendly cat
Welcomed by waitress commenting "hope you are not allergic to cats"
Waitress conducted a thorough CV 19 check, V GOOD
Wish they had same perspective to animals & food premises
NSW FOOD ACT re ANIMALS @ FOOD PREMISES
With the exception of fish and shellfish, no animals are allowed where food is handled
by staff (i.e. kitchen, storage and serving areas)

The friendly cat had open slather to dining area. Jumped up on our table & attempted to snatch some food off my plate. Waitress gave an insincere apology & blamed it on diners feeding cat scraps.

Also saw waitress physically handling the cat ? Not good

Ended up just getting one course, & skipped dessert

I like animals, but not roaming in a restaurant. By law not allowed

The mind boggles what cat gets up to in the kitchen
Was told it manages vermin.

Get a Pest Exterminator!

Date of visit: February 2021
4  Thank nevetslebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2021

We had our daughters 18th on the deck at the winery.
Due to covid restrictions had to cap number of Guests .
The night was hot but everyone enjoyed the setting.
Watching the sun go down on the beautiful view, just stunning.
The staff were amazing,couldnt have been more helpful.
The food was great, their wine was lovely.Beer was cold .
A great place to have a more formal party of any sort but with a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
We will be back

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank 688mjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

My partner and I spent a beautiful Saturday evening at Cottontails. The staff were all lovely with the manager, Lilly, personally checking in on us and ensuring we were happy with everything and making us laugh.
The food was spectacular and the wine went down a little too well! I had the supreme chicken and the creamy sauce is absolutely to die for.
A lovely evening, a stunning sunset and a truly delicious meal. We can’t wait to visit again!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank michaelittt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020

We visited from Adelaide to celebrate Christmas with family of 14 on Christmas eve
So disappointing no atmosphere, no decorations and nothing on the table. Food was so expensive,pork belly was uneatable, but there was no hesitation for a replacement main meal considering the average price for the main meal was $40
In saying that Hannah gave wonderful service
Would not recommend

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank Rosanne1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

My friend and I visited Cottontails for lunch. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff. The service was exceptional and the food was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend Cottontails. Lily is super amazing. She was very helpful and made our visit to Cottontails memorable. Lily you are a superstar! Every restaurant needs a Lily for a manager. I can't wait to visit again.❤️

Date of visit: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank derrickphiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottontails Restaurant, Winery & Function Centre also viewed

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 

Been to Cottontails Restaurant, Winery & Function Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.