We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$24
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Expedia.com
US$24
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Agoda.com
US$24
US$17
View Deal
SAVE US$7
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Trip.comUS$21
TravelocityUS$24
CheapTicketsUS$24
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4)
Filter reviews
4 results
Traveller rating
0
1
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
1
0
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Lots of free parking near hotel. Not much eateries with walking distance, you might need a car. Room is clean, quiet and spacious. It is a budget hotel, so don't expect on free breakfast, bathtub or any facilities being provided. However, they have all the necessary amenities, eg: toiletries, mineral water, hot shower. It is still worth the price is less than $40 per night (~RM150 for 2 night stay during non peak days)

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vonderfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

When we first checked in, we were rather satisfied. Rooms were clean and no bad odor. Room was rather small but i don't expect much from a budgeted hotel. They don't have kettle to boil water but they have Coway water dispenser on every floor near the elevator where u can take hot water. Just a bit troublesome. Our horror happens the next morning, when there's no water to wash my face and brush my teeth. We got no choice but to use the mineral water in our room to wash our face. The worst hotel I've stayed so far.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ee Mae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICE-HOTEL, General Manager at Pice Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered. On the 13th November 2016 approximately 03.00 a.m. we had water pipe eruption that causes us to emergency shut down the hotel’s water supply from 03.00 a.m. to 08.00 a.m. hence the water crisis. We compensate each affected guest with voucher and if by chance you didn’t get, do email us at picehotel@gmail.com to get yours. We apologize once again for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
Have a Nice Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I arrived latish after delayed flights and was shocked to find that there was no breakfast facility - it actually is a drive away! The first room I was shown was like a cell, no natural daylight and bare. I was given another room with a very narrow window - the towels were dirty so could not shower - tap on sink didn't fit properly. Wondered whether it actually was an hotel. No phone in room so high anxiety!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SueJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICE-HOTEL, General Manager at Pice Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered. We don’t provide breakfast but food courts, cafes and restaurants are within walking distances. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and regretful that the services rendered were not up to your expectation. Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.

Thank you,
Have a Nice Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC