We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for location and cleanliness”
Review of Paravista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paravista Motel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 10 September 2016

My boyfriend, his mom and I stayed at Paravista for 6 nights - We arrived late Weds night from Melbourne and left the following Monday night. We rented a car and were able to park in the motel parking lot.

Our room came with one single and one double bed, ensuite bathroom, closet, TV, mini fridge and cabinet with bowls, mugs, plates and cutlery. There was a communal kitchen on the top floor with the necessities - enough to make yourself a sandwich or boil/fry something simple. The bathroom was really clean and the shower was good. They say they have Wifi but the password didn't work, and signal kept cutting in and out as well.

The location was great as it was close to the Parap markets (great for a visit on the weekend) and a quick 5 minute drive to the Mindil Beach Night Markets (running Thursday and Sunday nights). It was right off Stuart Highway, which you take to Litchfield, Kakadu, Berry Springs, Territory Wildlife Park... essentially everywhere in Darwin.

The only downside to the room was the a/c - it's extremely old and loud, and was just enough to keep us cool, but not cold enough. There was a cleaning service that came only on weekdays - they emptied our garbages, refilled TP and made the beds. On the weekend, the alternative cleaning crew, an army of tiny ants, ensured our room was free of any crumbs. Unfortunately they didn't take out the garbage or make our beds though.

I didn't often see anyone at reception, but when I needed to pay for the stay, I called Tenile and she picked up immediately and met us at reception to pay. If you have a lot of luggage or have trouble going up/down stairs, ask the hotel to put you on a lower floor if there is space, as the building has no elevator, just stairs. Overall I'd say it was great value and I'd likely stay again if I was to visit Darwin.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have a lot of luggage or can't go up and down flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloeliang21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night before demobilisation from job in Darwin. Rooms are good size, clean with great beds and quiet . Would recommend this to anyone not wanting to get ripped off for accomodation . Staff were fantastic! Great stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Twochilledoutkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Stayed for three nights in a ground floor unit. The motel is in a quiet residential street in the suburb of Parap. By car 10-15 minutes to the centre of Darwin. The bed was comfy and the blockout curtains kept the morning light put for a good sleep in! The motel is old built after Cyclone Tracey but in good condition. The room was really clean. Jug and coffee some plates and cutlery supplied and small fridge. Nothing to cook on in the room but a BBQ out by the pool - which was also really clean. The shower pressure was excellent. Very poor wifi in room but there are signs to sit out by reception which is annoying at night. Great position, the year round Parap markets(Saturday morning) are around the corner, pub with bottle shop and restaurant also round the corner. fish & chip, Mexican, Chinese restaurants newsagency all round the corner.
My only complaint would be the bed only had two sheets on it-no blankets and none in the room. I had my own otherwise I would have been cold during the night but I did not ask for any either as had my own.

Room Tip: All have terrace or balcony if smokers, no lift only stairs so if older or small children ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This motel is easy to get to - one street from the Stuart Highway. It is close to the city centre and we found it an easy walk to Mindil Beach. We chose the motel because it had outdoor parking - we have a high vehicle so we avoid the hotels in the city centre that have under cover parking. This motel was built in 1974 so is not modern but it is comfortable. The pool was kept clean. We had a room on the first floor so didn't have many stairs to climb. It suited our needs.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We had a double room on the ground floor. Although the premises is a bit "tired", it was clean and adequate. It was obviously suffering from a lack of custom, as there were few guests, but it was in the off season. The people running the establishment were wonderful, and were very helpful. Its location close to the Parap shopping centre was a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.1 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
331 reviews
3.1 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
0.6 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 36 in Darwin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
950 reviews
2.5 km away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
2.5 km away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#11 of 36 in Darwin
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paravista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paravista Motel

Address: Holiday Units 5 Mackillop St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: RM230 - RM284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paravista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Paravista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing