We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good No Nonsense Apartment Hotel”
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good No Nonsense Apartment Hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We booked as a mystery hotel ( we had 3 weeks up here so could muck around a bit with accommodation). Rate was very cheap - but then you get a room with a very limited view. At least it had a balcony which made a nice change.

Room had a king bed which was unexpected. Very comfortable. Room was large with all mod cons and very workable. The room service menu was good, and the cafe downstairs (Table 43) had a good range of choices which were well priced if you stayed away from the steaks.

We have used Mantra many times before and this property fitted the Mantra mould perfectly with no suprises.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    307
    138
    44
    23
See reviews for
70
247
45
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for two weeks and really enjoyed the apartment I had.
Very spacious, great location, clean tidy and well equiped. Friendly helpful staff as well.
Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were travelling with three children so not unreasonably we wanted them to have a bed each. This was beyond the comprehension of the hotel, we had to ask three times for this to be done. The hotel is clean, modern, anything you eat or drink is expensive. $30 AU for a bottle of wine, and not great wine!

Oh and if you want to buy your own wine in Darwin you will need photo ID! Even if you are 56! Had it not been for the kitchen in our room our four days here would have broke the bank! We catered for ourselves which was a huge relief.

If you want to buy local art, well, I think the only people benefiting are the people owning the shops, wait till you get to Sydney its half the price.

So on our last day we wanted to keep our rooms as our flight was due to leave at 1am!!! They wanted $40 AU an hour for our rooms. Oh they said we need to get the rooms ready in case we need them so we have to keep the cleaning staff. Well this was for a hotel that was empty. All a bit jobs worth for me.

The only reason we stayed in Darwin was to visit the national parks which by the way are amazing! But they are hours and hours away. Whilst there isnt much option in Lichfield, there is a good Hilton in Kakadu! Which our tour operator (Aus Travel) knew nothing of!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, you have to be prepared to over look a building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarpendenVicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Live in Darwin, checked in Christmas Eve and out Boxing Day for a break. The room on 18th floor had the most fantasic harbour views and given we were expecting a cyclone over Christmas we had the most briliant cloud formations, lighting and sun sets to look at. The room was much larger than I expected, very clean, and well appointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and kept eveyone up to date on the cyclone watch and warning stages. The bathroom was also very roomy and clean. We had the buffet breakfast both mornings and that was lovely, even offered champagne on Christmas Day !!! By far the best value in Darwin (though we did get Territorian rates). I would recommend to all.

Room Tip: 18th Floor. I had noticed other advisors note the noisy aircon on the balcony and they are, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Karen B,
Thank you for staying with us at mantra Pandanas over the Christmas period and by your comments you had a nice break.
Obviously the room lived up to your expectations and glad to see you had some great views of the impending storm activity. We do take any cyclone warning very seriously and have the Guests comfort at front of mind at all times. We have a full cyclone procedure action plan in place for just such occasions, so all Guests can be assured of the best safety procedures in any Hotel in Darwin.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next wan to take a break in the City.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager, Mantra Pandanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I ended up staying for 2 weeks at this hotel and was really impressed with the rooms, the service and the friendliness of everyone here. The 1st room was a water view room I was upgraded to which was spacious and very well furnished with fridge, cook top and microwave, good tv and music system and very comfortable. The 1 bed room apartment was also spacious with very good amenities. Both bathrooms were roomy and with good soaps and shampoos.The pool and attached spa pool is great. The only disappointment was paying for internet( which didn't work for 3 of the days I was there on business) which is a weird thing when many hotels the world over can all manage free internet . An excellent place to stay, in the city, in walking distance to good restaurants and businesses

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Gabby b,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra Pandanas recently, and sharing your comments with other potential Guests.
I am very glad to read you were more than happy with the service and style of accommodation we provide. Obviously two weeks is a long time to be away from home and hopefully we helped to make you as comfortable as possible over this period.
If you are returning to Darwin in the future we would be more than happy to look after you again.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager, Mantra Pandanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 km away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.1 km away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 km away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price range (per night): RM456 - RM1,109
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing