We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”

The Fishmonger's Wife
Ranked #233 of 5,225 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Brisbane's Best Fish n Chips, serving both in an air conditioned cafe, and takeaways available. We have an emphasis on fresh Australian fish, prepared by chefs in a variety of original styles and marinades. We have a dedicated Gluten Free fryer!
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful meal with gluten free menu cooked in separate fryer. Totally recommend. Well done guys, keep up the great work

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisha63, Owner at The Fishmonger's Wife, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Kim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We went with three of our small children this past week and found the staff to be very friendly! They provided little coloring books to entertain them which was a nice touch. The food was excellent including the barramundi fish and chips were very tasty. We have just moved here to the area and plan to come back frequently! Thanks so much!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 325mandyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisha63, Owner at The Fishmonger's Wife, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Mandy, we love serving your family :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Superb menu developed by chef. Pleasant surroundings. Great wine list. Try it. Remember the starving.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisha63, Owner at The Fishmonger's Wife, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Blanchard
Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful and concise review! Hope to see you again soon,
warm regards
The Fishmongers Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We have had takeaway twice since it has moved here and both times mediocre so we wondered where their great reputation came from so decided to give it a proper try and we ate in the restaurant. I cannot fault the service nor the food, which were a very ample serving, chips were crisp yet light and fluffy insideboth food and drinks were very reasonable prices. After this experience I strongly suggest dining in for a great experience and we will return.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Roslyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisha63, Owner at The Fishmonger's Wife, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Roslyn
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your dine in meal. Our takeaway food is cooked in the same kitchen and to the same standard, however we find customers often take a while to pick up their takeaway order, and so the food isn't as piping hot when they get home. We are very glad to offer both services to suit all our customers needs. We look forward to seeing you again!
warm regards
The Fishmongers Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the ambience and atmosphere. Staff was great and friendly. However, we found for the price, and the quality wasn't there.

Our beer battered chips were over cooked and we left them behind. The barramundi was lovely and perfectly cooked. However, the rest of our food was average. I wouldn't return.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Kassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisha63, Owner at The Fishmonger's Wife, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Kassie
Thanks for the compliments regarding our restaurant and staff. Really sorry that you did not enjoy your chips - they take just a few minutes to cook, if you had let us know we would have been happy to replace them with chips cooked more to your liking. Many customers ask for crispy chips, and some ask for them not so crispy - happy to oblige, just ask!
warm regards
the Fishmongers Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fishmonger's Wife also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Fishmonger's Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing