We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK ish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“OK ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We only stay for one night but it had that old damp smell that never goes away and we weren't very impressed. The room was so small for 2 adults and 1 child that it was hard to move around a roll away bed. Can't say I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Joshtherock

Thank you for bringing the "damp smell" to our attention. This is the second comment in that vein that we have received since reopening from January 2011 floods. I have passed this on to both our Housekeeping and Engineering team to ensure that all unpleasant odours, whatever the source, are addressed immediately.

The Stamford Plaza Brisbane does lend itself more towards corporate guests, however we often have families staying with us, due to our location and to attend sporting events or concerts. It was disappointing to read that your room didn't quite meet your needs, however do hope that you will visit us again where we will be able to offer a larger room, or perhaps interconnecting rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    660
    252
    84
    52
See reviews for
226
1,169
94
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel deserves it's Star rating. Our room was clean, comfortable and had wonderful views of the Brisbane River and Storey Bridge. Excellent location. Classy restaurants on the doorstep.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th Floor. Quiet, well onsulated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Theresa C

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We are very fortunate in terms of location and it seems you were able to take full advantage of that, which is wonderful.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The service was excellent from the charming lady on the phone for a reservation, the valets and reception staff. Excellent service in the Pav Bar for an after dinner drink and welcoming staff for breakfast. Enjoyed the river views during breakfast. We were given a complimentary upgrade on our room, which was very comfortable and the roomy bathroom was also spotlessly clean. The bottle of sparkly wine was also a nice start to our evening. We had a problem with our hot water cutting in an out in the shower resulting in either very cold or scalding hot. When we mentioned this to staff on check out they were apologetic and assured us that it would be looked at. This is an elegant hotel in traditional decor. Would recommend it for anyone wanting somewhere special in Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear louisen31

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We are very proud of our team here at the hotel so it was a pleasure to see that they were able to make your stay a memorable one.

We have certainly attended to the shower issue that you mentioned; I hope you were able to still use the facility sufficiently. Many thanks for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The location of this hotel could not be beter, right in the thick of things but in a lovely quiet spot overlooking the river, you don't feel like you are in the middle of the city at all, The view is fantastic sitting in front of the large window even though we were only on the 5th floor.
The buffet breakfast was excellent in a lovely setting overlooking the river.
We found the room to be very small, we had a twin room and there was only about 10 cm between the single beds. I have stayed at 4 star hotels that have 2 double or queen beds so was surprised by this for a 5 star hotel. The Air conditioning became to hot during the night and woke us up so it had to be adjusted several times. The bathroom is large but dated and nothing special. The service was average, on check in we were not advised as to where the included breakfast is served or where the lifts are in the large lobby, we had to find things out for ourselves and on check out the receptionist just said "thats fine, thank you" without even looking up from her computer. A smile and "I hope you enjoyed your stay" goes a long way.
The pool area in looking very tired and there is no pool attendant that we saw, departed guests had left wet towels on all the chairs so you had to clean up yourself before sitting down. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel on location alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Takemeaway01

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was a little disappointed by your comments regarding the pool. We did have, over summer, a pool attendant who also served drinks and chilled treats in the afternoon. However, as our leisure guests slowly became corporate travellers, we thought that such a service would not be needed at present. I have certainly passed your comments on to our Food & Beverage Manager, however, so that we can address this.

I was also disappointed by your comments regarding check in. It is certainly not the service we expect from our team. Our Front Office Manager has been alerted to this and will ensure our front office team are reminded of the level of service and attention our guests are to receive.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have stayed here many many times over the years as a night out treat with Hubby. Always had a great time here, the decor is very sophisticated and views of river and Storey Bridge wonderful.
We have stayed in the Presidential suite on one occasion and loved it. It has recently had a renovation and is even more fancy now and a favourite of the celebs who pass by Brisbane. We always choose to stay in a junior suite it doesn't cost that much more but the suites are beautiful with a dressing area and huge bathroom with TV. The bedroom and lounge area are open plan and the furniture is top notch. It is a lovely suite to open a bottle of champers and take in the sunset over the river.
Breakfast is plentiful and you can choose to sit inside with air conditioning or outside with views of the river. We have stayed in all the five star hotels is Brisbane and this is by far the best also lots of restaurants within walking distance and the park and gardens right next door. Also can walk to city centre for shopping.

Room Tip: ask for high floor with Storey bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear pakaxx

It's been 12 months since we have regretted our location, but now that we're back up and running, our location is certainly one of our best selling points!

It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of activities around the hotel, which is great. It also seems to me that perhaps you were celebrating a special occasion. I'm glad we were able to be a part of that, though we can't take any credit for the sunset!

The Brasserie is a very popular restaurant. Location-wise, it's a fantastic spot for Riverfire Night - we do book out early!

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Safe travels and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.7 km away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
0.9 km away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.8 km away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.6 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): RM580 - RM1,079
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing