We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian taste by fantastic chef from Napoli !”
Review of Va Bene

Va Bene
Ranked #155 of 5,046 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Va Bene is renowned as Brisbane's best and most authentic taste of Italy-and this reputation does not exceed the experience. If you have never experienced genuine Italian cuisine, there is no better place to start. And if you are familiar with the pleasures of Italian food there is no better place in Brisbane to satisfy your palette. FACILITIES Translated literally, 'Va Bene' means 'it goes well', which is a fitting description of our relaxed ambience and the experience you can expect. At Va Bene we specialise in regional dishes, with a selection of exquisite foods from the Naples region. You will find a mix of traditional flavours, too: pastas, pizzas, antipasto, seafood and veal. This wide-ranging and hearty menu is sure to tantalise any taste bud. The restaurant features elegant indoor and outdoor dining with courtyard and candlelight. The wine list covers a range of high-quality Australian and Italian reds and whites, tailored to perfectly complement the cuisine. You can visit our menus online through the side links. These menus feature Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Specials and the Wine List. At Brisbane International - Windsor, we offer more than just great food at our Va Bene Restaurant. We also offer room service direct from our wonderful menus to your door, and catering for functions and events. If you have any special dietary restrictions, we would be happy to accommodate. Please just speak to our helpful staff.
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Very relaxed and elegant dining and fantastic and authentic Italian food !
We came here before and chef, Francesco remembered us. He came to our table and greeting us and had a nice chat. What a great way to welcome us, made us feel so special. We had "Penne al salmomne affumicato", a lots of smoked salmon and yummy cream sauce pasta penne. Beautiful flavour and we love it so much. And "Pizza patate e pancetta", authentic Italian potato pizza which chef's favourite. So we tried. Our first time potato pizza ! Thin & crispy pizza base and mozzarella, potatoes, pancetta, onion and rosemary toppings. White pizza, no tomato sauce. great combinations and not heavy. Waitress was so friendly, too. Having some beers and we had a happy yummy Italian time !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rainbowrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, Manager at Va Bene, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hi Rainbowrider2016

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Francesco’s famous Pizza Patate e pancetta is a favourite of many of our regular diners and you’re right, it is a little bit unusual to have potato on a pizza but once you’ve tried it you’ll be back for more!!

We hope to see you again soon and I would recommend trying the Gnocchi – either with spanner crab or Gorgonzola, they’re both delicious.

Kind regards

Bec O’Connor
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Dined with work colleagues last week and while the menu is not extensive it has enough lovely tasty dishes from gourmet pastas and pizzas to steak, lamb, fish and chicken dishes. Friendly atmosphere and good service.

Thank Jock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, Manager at Va Bene, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi Jock

Thanks for great the review, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Bec O’Connor
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I dined at Va Bene Saturday night and was smiling when I saw the menu. There were items on there I only see in Italy. We arrived at 7pm and when it came to order sadly they had run out of some dishes - the ones we wanted of course! Our second choices though didn't let us down. From our entrée to mains to dessert, what a food journey! I also enjoyed a glass of limoncello with my dessert. Prices are great for the food offered, this is not a budget restaurant but a fair priced one. We will return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trish1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, Manager at Va Bene, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi Trish1973

What a wonderful review – thank you! Our Chef, Francesco, will be so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and he really does bring a little bit of Italy right here to Brisbane. Apologies that not all of our dishes were available but surely that just means you’ll have to come back and dine with us again very soon!

Kind regards

Bec O’Connor
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The staff were nice but we booked a table for 7.30pm and finally got dinner at 9.20pm. Apparently the management decided the head chief can have Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights off. The apprentice chief (only person in kitchen) worked flat out with full restaurant and room service!!!!!! She did a good job of the food
So if you want to eat here go during the week.

1  Thank AussieJoy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, Manager at Va Bene, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi AussieJoy2010

Thank you for choosing to dine at Va Bene and I can only apologise for the wait you experienced during your meal. As I explained on the night we were unexpectedly busy but our Chef who is very experienced, and definitely not an apprentice was performing a great job to ensure all of our diners received meals that were up to the high standards expected of our guests.

However I am thrilled that putting aside the wait you enjoyed your meal and I would really urge you to come back and give us another try.

Kind regards
Bec O’Connor
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

It's not often that restaurants tucked away in suburban motels offer quality food, but this is one that does. This was our third visit, but the first for many years despite the fact that it is quite close to where we live. It's just one of those restaurants that for some reason doesn't spring to mind when we're going out to eat. That and the the fact that there are so many new ones constantly popping up I guess. We were reminded of it by friends who dined there recently and have become Va Bene converts, so decided it was time for a revisit - and were very happy with the evening.
Small and cosy, with service that is efficient and relaxed, it has a pretty comprehensive menu and wine list, and the food is extremely good. Despite being a Saturday night and quite full of diners, it was not noisy (which is our most common complaint with many of the newer restaurants) and still possible to have a conversation. On top of that there is plenty of free parking available. What more can you ask for?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ozteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, Manager at Va Bene, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi ozteddy

We’re so thrilled that you have “found” us again!! Don’t forget to tell all of your friends!! We don’t want to be a hidden little gem anymore, we want to share our great food and service with everyone!!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bec O’Connor
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Va Bene also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Va Bene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing