We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it seems to be....”
Review of Bohemia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bohemia Resort
Ranked #72 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I spent 6 nights at the "resort" from July 31 to August 6. I had booked a double room with shared bathroom and the room I was given upon check-in was a " dorm room with a double bed and a bunk bed". not exactly the room in the picture! I will add pics later on but first I will write the comment.
a) location: a bit far from the city but if walking is ok for you, it's about 20 minutes on foot one way. The area is OK.....north of the CBD and 10 minutes from the sea front.
b) Resort: The Hostel features a pool and an eating area with shared kitchen. The poolside restaurant offers meals at irrealistic prices! Nothing under AUD19.50!!! There is a fish and chips 5 minutes away and meals start @ 7.00!!!! So, save your money and don't eat at the resort. Actually, I can't remember seeing anyone eating there...
c) Breakfast is 5.50 but it's usually included in the price. You get bread, instant coffee/tea, Marmite, spread and jam. There is cereal too. juice is also provided. No fruit, no yogurt , no butter, no nothing....so if brekkie is your main meal , make sure you to buy what you need.

d) Rooms: old, dodgy, not really clean, noisy and not very nice. My room was advertised as a double room at 99AUD ( normal price) but I got a 50% discount!!!!! Serious? Those rooms are not worth the 49AUD they are rented out! I stayed in Sydney at the Mercure for 69AUD / night! The rates are really misleading.....There is a sink+ fridge + kettle.... I had Ac but No table, no chair, no plates, no bedside lamp!!!! It's a dorm room they sell for a hotel room....( pictures will follow). The shared bathroom was ok and so was the loo.
e) environment: As said, it's a HOSTEL, so it can be very noisy after 9PM when people speak loud and bang doors etc.....I could hardly sleep a wink because of the noise....
f) Front desk: Nice and friendly...
g) Laundry: they charge you AUD4 per wash...and they forget to tell you that all their washers use COLD water only whatever the cycle....how mean!!! clothes that require a warm wash come out smelly and as dirty as when you put them in....There is a coin laundry next to the Fish and chips and Iga supermarket ( a rip off!) . there, a load is 3 bucks only and they wash with warm water!

What else? I don't really know what to think about that place....cheap, cheap... and not really a bargain. don't get fooled by the prices advertised....the price ypou pay is the right price once you get the discount. paying 99AUd for a double dorm room is simply a rop off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascalpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

The price was acceptable in very expensive Australia. If all you need is a bed to sleep in, this is the place to stay. Breakfast was extremely basic, nothing for health minded people (white toast, jam, coffee, not much more than that). Personnel was overworked and did not have too much time to spend to chat or do you favors. The small pool was a nice place to stop and sit and spend a little time. Walking to town was ok, yes, about 20 minutes, but then again, the price of the hotel was accordingly. After we got back from our tour of the area in a camping van we stayed there again, reason being that we had a bed to sleep in, a shower (shared) and a little fridge. More luxury than the little camping van. Price was the reason of our return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcomove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights with the first night arriving at 5am. Was worried about check in at that time of morning but no problems, there is a phone on the wall which you call the caretaker and he gives you a pin number for the key box and tells you where your room is. Our room was massive - 3 bedrooms, 2 showers and toilets, lounge, kitchen, dining with all facilities needed to be self contained. There were only 3 of us and we loved the space! Was clean and comfortable. Could not find any faults and the price we paid on wotif.com was so cheap! We did walk into the Cairns Esplanade one night easy 15 minute walk but got a taxi back later. Taxis are everywhere and easy to hail. Would stay again. Breakfast was the only thing we had a winge about as no eggs or cooked foods.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balihopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights, the hotel was according to the price, clean, comfortable bed, medium bedroom with a little garden, interesting swimmingpool and the breakfast was acceptable. The only disadvantage is that the hotel is far from the city center, 20 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

If you are thinking of this hotel - don't. A backpacker holiday would be better value. Rooms were spartan and lacked amenities. No more than 2 star. Staff were surly and uncooperative. Advert was deceptive and when booking made the rooms were called "suites". A small room is not a suite. Gave a weeks holiday to a staff member as a bonus and was so embarrassed that had to move them to another hotel. Far better and $300 cheaper. The hotel then refused to give even a partial refund. Wrong attitude guys. You give Australian tourism a bad name.

Room Tip: Tip - rooms in other hotels are better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampervanmanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
2 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.3 km away
Cairns Holiday Park
Cairns Holiday Park
#7 of 84 in Cairns
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 84 in Cairns
339 reviews
1.4 km away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#9 of 84 in Cairns
502 reviews
1.2 km away
Globetrotters International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Resort

Address: 231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: RM138 - RM213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bohemia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing