We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$323
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
JJ's Backpackers Hostel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$168
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travellers Oasis Backpackers(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$153
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
28
16
20
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
20
18
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Excellent place to stay as for youth, as for adults (as we are) which looking European style sleeping. Staff is very friendly, speak English. Free Wi-Fi in the room, Free Internet access at the common area. Well appointed rooms (I had a single), the staff are brilliant, friendly and ultra helpful. Had a free tour on my first day. Kitchen facilities are excellent, great common area. If it's raining, just borrow an umbrella. Really, you can't go wrong

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were glad we chose this backpackers as it had a real old style backpackers feel about it. It is not one of those massive, newly built places that fits hundreds of people . Sure the buildings were built a while ago and weren't the newest. That was ok with us as it had an authentic backpackers atmosphere about it. You knew you weren't staying in a 500 room hotel where you don't get to meet anyone. We had a double room which was extremely cheap , just $40 a night. I am guessing because it was low season. Room was perfectly adequate and had a decent mattress. Common areas weren't shiny glossy clean, but they were cleaned every day and that was all you could ask really. Staff were nice and it was good that they give you 10% discount on the tours without needing to haggle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived at cairns airport where we had pre-booked a bus shuttle to pick us up which to start with was almost 2 hours late. When we got there the first thing we noticed was that it stunk of stale urine. The reception was closed so we decided to dump our bags in our room and head straight out as we had lots to do. When we got back that night it was around 10pm and the reception was still closed. We got into the room where we found small bugs crawling all over the bed, all along the floors and walls and the smell of Urine was disgusting. The 'bathroom' looked like it hadn't been cleaned in about 1 year, and there was cobwebs all over the hostel. We wished we had noticed the bugs earlier as we would've just left straight away, so instead we called a cab and went to the YHA which was 100 times nicer. We went back the next morning at around 9.30am to say that we hadn't stayed that night because of the bugs and the smell, and there was a lady behind reception who was straight on the defence. She didn't really listen to what we had to say other than her own opinion. A man then came through and said there was nothing wrong with the room, we asked for a full refund as we hadn't stayed there and they didn't exactly look like they were short on beds, and instead we were offered 2 nights refunded out of the 4 which we didn't even stay. I would avoid this hostel at any costs, it may be cheap but in no way is it worth the agro or the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodyinheaven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This backpackers is one of my favourite that I have been to in Australia. Sure , the price was good but I especially liked the tropical garden atmosphere. So many palm trees and ferns, really felt like I was no longer in the UK. Room was clean, and facilities were good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Yeah, so stayed here in March, it rained a lot so I stayed at the backpackers a lot. That made me glad I chose a nice place. Especially appreciated the free wifi as most backpackers make you pay or only give you 1 hour free or something. Here it was completely unlimited and I could get it from my room too. Swimming pool was small but nice place to cool down in. Other guests were all friendly and staff were too. Am coming back here after going to Cape Trib for a few days.

Room Tip: I was in 3 kangaroo which was a quiet room and had its own shower.
Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews