We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mantra PortSea(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Club Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Villas Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
575
125
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
125
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric frypanrooms are largeice machinegreat hostsfree bikesfamily roomcontinental breakfastminute walkhelpful ownerssingle bedthe great barrier reefguest laundrycovered parkingexcellent place to stayfree wificeiling fansmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly hotel owners. Shortly after our booking they contacted us and gave us some first informations about trips to the BarrierReef and to Cape Tribulation. They booked for us the tour to the Reef and gave their discount (in this case 5 %) to us. That was very fair.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vierhaehne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milumanu, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi vierhaehne,
Thank you for being our 700th reviewer!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review on here. It was a pleasure to meet you both and so glad that you got to the reef.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back again in the future?
Kind regards
Aidan & Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I loved our four-night stay at the Lazy Lizard. It was well-located within easy driving distance to restaurants, shopping and the marina. The room was large, comfortable, air conditioned, and clean. It also had a well-stocked kitchenette, which we unfortunately did not use as we were out all day. Towels were available for the pool or travel to the reef.

Our hosts were very helpful in storing our valuables and providing us with great information about Daintree national park and with recommendations on where to go in the center of town. Most importantly, in advance of our arrival we had heard about cyclones in the area. Upon contacting our hosts via email for information, they reassured us by providing independent weather links for us to assess the situation ourselves. Finally, the little pool was a welcome opportunity to relax at the end of our days. We very much recommend this friendly and affordable motel. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OscarG170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milumanu, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi OscarG170,
Thank you so much for your 5 bubble review and so glad that you decided to take a chance on the weather and stay with us. Lots of media portray us as being flooded or in the middle of a cyclone, yet we are hundreds or thousands of kms away from anything that is actually happening.
So good to read that you would be happy to recommend us and that you would be happy to stay here again.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and hopefully we will see you return one day??
Kind regards
Aidan & Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 4 year old and we absolutely loved it! The setting is perfect; quiet, near to town and very relaxing. The room was huge, beds very comfy, lovely toiletries, fluffy towels, and the place is spotless! Their pool was amazing. ...my son loved it! They have everything to make your stay comfortable, great laundry facility, dvd and book borrowing, pool towels. Actually I would say if you needed anything all you had to do was ask. I have to say Aidan made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed our stay here. I would highly recommend and would not hesitate to stay here again! (Hopefully some day! !)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Katmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milumanu, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Katmartyn, thank you so much for your 5 bubble review and thank you for choosing an Irish welcome in Port! So nice to meet the three of you and so good to read that you enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully you didn't get too much rain on the drive south? We are getting heaps now!
Hopefully, some day, we will get to welcome you all back to the Lazy Lizard again.
Thank you for taking the time out of your holiday to post your review. Really appreciated.
Go raibh mile maith agat!
Kind regards
Aidan & Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed. We will go back again. Auden and Alex are so helpful and friendly. They arranged tours for us and made excellent recommendations of things to see and do. Made both of our holidays memorable

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank terryjoywoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milumanu, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear terryjoywoodward,
We are so privileged to have been your first review on Tripadvisor. Thank you both so much for your fantastic 5 bubble review and thank you for choosing to return to us again. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you both back again and hope your trip south was relaxing and fun?
Looking forward top seeing you again next year!
Thank you once again.
Warm regards
Aidan & Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

The only thing I didn't like about the Lazy Lizard was the name. The room and the amenities were perfectly fine, if a little plain. Everything was clean and in good working order. I liked having the kettle, fridge and microwave. The price was excellent.

There is a pretty pool which we didn't use as we were out every day at the reef.

Aiden was the person we had the most contact with and he was a wonderful host. He told us where to eat and what places are worth exploring in the Daintree Rain Forest. In all instances, he was spot on. Alex is also lovely, but we didn't have as much contact with him. It was wonderful to have such great advice which helped make our trip so successful.

If we ever return to Port Douglas we will be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank haifasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milumanu, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you haifasharon for your fantastic review and thank you both for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and to share in your diving cert achievement! Shame you didn't like the name as it reflects the ambiance of the area, laze and relax!
So good to read that our recommendations were spot on. We like to get out and about, when we can, and explore the region, restaurants and attractions, so that we can recommend to others.
Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Enjoy Tassie and the rest of your Melbourne time.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Aidan & Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews