We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I'm writing this review to take exception with Cody56's less than complimentary review. Don't let his review persuade you not to stay here.

We spent a wonderful four nights at Martinique on Macrossan, and will gladly return the next time we visit Port Douglas. The location is excellent, the quite end of Macrossan, next to the Four Mile beach and within walking distance to all the good restaurants, Coles (the local supermarket) and the marina.

Fred and Antonia, the property managers, were lovely people and extremely helpful. Fred greeted us upon our arrival Sunday evening and carried our heavy bag upstairs. They discussed the pros and cons of the various tours and then booked them for us. When we decided to visit the Wildlife Habitat, Antonia provided us with a 20% off coupon and dropped what she was doing and insisted of driving us there so we wouldn't have to bother with catching the bus! When we requested they book an afternoon shuttle to return to the airport, they voluntarily suggested we stay late, at no cost, without my having to request a late checkout.

One final item that I did not read in any other review, was the availability of filtered water to refill your water bottles with. We drink a lot of water, and the savings probably paid for one of our lunches.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_and_Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2010

I would like to confirm all the previous, positive reviews of the Martinique. We were situated in a courtyard room with plenty of tropical foliage surrounding us. The apartment complex had a lovely relaxed tropical feel with nice bunches of tropical gingers, heliconias in vases dotted around the foyer. A fountain and fish pond at the entrance which was the home to large green tree frogs was welcoming. We stayed for 3 nights, Fred and Antonia were great hosts and let us have a late check-out free of charge. We met other travellers while we were there and all seemed very friendly and suitably chilled out. I must comment on a few issues raised by "cody56". I too have stayed in many hotels and apartments throughout the world and must say I have never come across apartments which also have a maid service. I'm sure this kind of establishment exists but I would have thought, is very much in the minority. If you want a daily maid service then it would be best to stay in a hotel room rather than an apartment with all the additional facilities and space that it offers. Unfortunately, for all travellers from the USA, due to the parity with the American dollar, all accommodation in Australia would seem expensive at the moment. So the $150 that Cody56 paid would seem expensive but is subjective on the exchange rate and is an unfair comparison. We only met one Australian couple over the 3 days, the rest were from overseas. If you take the advice of cody56 and "go elsewhere along the strip" I think you will find all apartments will be run along the lines of the Martinique with no maid service, so I wouldn't bother with that. To sum up, if you are a solo traveller or couple, The Martinique is an ideal retreat for all that Port Douglas has to offer, my wife and I wouldn't even consider anywhere else on our next visit after experiencing the ambience of these apartments.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Biljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Maybe we are out of touch being from New York. We have literally traveled most of the world with the exception of maybe Africa, Greenland and Iceland.......OK the basics of the global travel. I even went to New Zealand on a business trip last year and stayed in similar "apartment style" lodging. In New Zealand they make your bed and take care of your room and even replace the coffee and cream each day. That is normal when one travels. Well my friend, these little things you will have to do without at Martinique on M........ I have never stayed anywhere, and that includes inexpensive hotels when I was a kid in college............that doesnt have any form of maid service. Nobody to make your bed, clean your room, maintain soap, towel and toilet paper no less. Absurd. When I asked the owner for fresh towels, soap and toilet paper.......yes they were given and when asked regarding maid service......his response was that, oh..that is "the way they do it in Australia" and that for "these prices" that is what is given. Oh really, $150 per night isnt exactly free lodging where I come from. Talk about being insulting to a customer and adding insult to injury. The owners here should thank the lord that the majority of their clients reside from Australia. I say go elswhere on the strip there for lodging and dont forget to ask what is and what is NOT "included".

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cody56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutcheggs, Owner at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

After reading this review it is clear that these guests who did not make a complaint to us, were looking more for hotel style accommodation where you do get room service every day - We advertise our establishment as self contained apartments - Our apartments are fully self-contained and serviced after four days if staying longer than 7 days. We always give our guests clean towels, sugar, coffee, soap etc on request The majority of accommodation in Port Douglas (Regardless of their star rating) are self containted and do not have daily service - and that was what we were trying to tell them
- We are sorry that we did not meet these guests expectations but rely on our previous reviews from guests who were clearly very satisfied
Fred and Antonia Eggers
Owner/Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We spent 6 days at Martinique and could quite happily have spent a lot longer.
Beautiful building in the perfect location, just on the edge of the town so not far to walk for eats,etc but far enough out not to be disturbed by any noise.
We loved the little pool at the back and my husband even made use of the hugh barbi!!
The apartment is just the right size, nice little kitchen and living room. Good size bedroom and bathroom. We had a balcony so use to sit out there in the evenings with a glass of wine or two. The apartments on the ground floor had their own garden area to sit in.
Two minutes (if that) walk from 4 mile beach.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliveGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Not my first time here, and hopefully not my last. I liked the decor and the spacious rooms, which were very clean. Also, a nice little pool out the back.
The hosts were very helpful and knowledgeable, and know whats good and not-so-good locally. There are heaps of great restaurants just up the road so you can't go wrong on thet front.
Also, I know the hosts are not adverse to checking out stuff (e.g. new reef trips) for themselves to make sure they are up to snuff..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROWDYROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,018 reviews
0.2 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
753 reviews
0.3 km away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,625 reviews
4.6 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: RM451 - RM737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing