We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two week stay”
Review of Reef Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Club Resort
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Our one bedroom apartment was ok with a balcony overlooking the pool.there was no in

door table or chairs, the balcony had a small table and 2 chairs. The apartment was an easy walk to the beach and a twenty minute walk to town.The apartment was quite dark with inadequate light to read at night.This is a large apartment block and can be noisy.The shower was over the bath which can be a problem for some?.The bed and linen were good.

Room Tip: Go on the third (top floor) there is no lift ?
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 415Tony279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefClubPortDouglas, Owner at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We only have outdoor eating as we advertise as Alfresco dining which is commonplace in Far North Queensland. Also noisy as it is currently peak season and all apartments are full so noise is hard to avoid.........a common problem at most places in peak season. As for showers over baths again commonplace up here due to age of buildings but something as new owners we are hoping to rectify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Reef Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

After a long drive it was good to finally get to the hotel, a bit hard to find the room as reception works 8am to 5pm and there are only limited carparks but that aside, the rooms were well set out and a private balcony was a great place to sit and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: W had a two bedroom apartment, it had everything we needed, close to beach and shops
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My mum, two kids and I booked through flight centre for an 8 day stay. The assumption in using a travel agent - is that they do the research!!! what a mistake that was!!!
We were hoping for a relaxing and comfortable warm vacation, where we could sit by the pool and enjoy the sun. The accommodation was so very disappointing! We had to get out as much as possible to avoid being there!!!

We booked two 2 bedroom apartments, ended up on opposite ends of the "resort". The girls and I were on second floor - and were just given a map and told where it was - no help carrying any of the bags up to the second floor.

They say free internet - but it doesn't work at all.

Both were dirty. The rooms I had with the kids were in desperate need of updating - everything looking v tired...even the soap dish (held by a metal ring) broke off immediately - where it became obvious it had broken before as it had rusted completely through - and had just been balanced on to look good. (until it fell off again!!) When told about it - management ignored until the Once weekly clean (hard to define it as a clean - as there were still cobwebs and dirt in every corner of every room) - where it was balanced back on!!! Rooms are not serviced more than once a week. Hair dryer and kettle also broken - and when told, management ignored until second time we mentioned it ....finally a new hairdryer came (day before we left) (kettle was replaced on day 2 tho)
They charge for toilet paper (!!!) and towels, and to use the ancient washing machines in the garage (which really don't wash anymore!!) ($4 per load of washing and another $4 for dryer). We were paying over $500 per night for the two units...the second bedroom was tiny and in our apptm 59, it didn't even have a window.

No windows have any glass - just metal shutters - which don't keep out the noise or the cigarette smoke from other units...where people are constantly smoking through the night....not to mention parties.

When mum mentioned we were unhappy to management - the comment was "you should have done more research"!!!

Overall - it was just the worst accommodation we have rented in a very long time - and we have done quite a bit of travelling locally and internationally. We had a quick look at the backpackers locally - and it was cleaner and nicer....definitely a better choice! Would not recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: just don't
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tullyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefClubPortDouglas, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

We are terribly sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here at The Reef Club Resort. Perhaps in the future you should do some research yourself as to the type of accommodation you have booked and not just rely on a travel agent.
Yes you did book two apartments but we had no request for those apartments to be together and even if we had it is not always possible to do so especially in our busy season as people have already booked a year ahead and made their requests.
We did however see the request for a lower floor for your mother and made sure that was accommodated for.
You also need to realise that Reef Club is advertised as "Self Catering" apartments and not serviced as is the case with much of the accommodation here in Port Douglas. We therefore do not have concierges and such to carry bags and assist you to your room but I am sure if you had requested help we would have assisted.
As for the cleanliness of the room. I personally check the rooms and I know they were thoroughly cleaned. As we are self catering apartments they are serviced only if you stay 8 nights or more on the 7th day and is only a service not a full clean.
As for the hairdryer we knew nothing about it until the day before you left and I personally went and brought a new one and as it turned out there was actually nothing wrong with the old one.
The laundry and machines are perfectly adequate and maintained by an outside company and we have no other complaints. In fact I use them and they wash everything very well.
Again yes we do charge for toilet paper and other amenities after your initial stock as we are advertised as self catering.
There is no glass on the windows as most places here use louvres due to the tropical environment and is a standard building practice in far north Queensland.
You did not pay over $500 a night for the 2 apartments and if you wanted fully serviced apartments you would have to pay considerably more than you did.
Majority of people who stay with us love the place and a lot are return guests and if you read any reviews that we have received on here and other sites since we took over at the end of March 2017 they have all been positive.
As for the internet, it does work but in busy periods it can be a little slow due to the amount of people using it. Also again we are in far north Queensland and the internet can be generally unreliable. It is free and unlimited so hard to complain about.
Next time you book check what type of place you are booking in to and maybe a 5 star resort may be more to your liking but you will be paying a lot more than what you paid here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This was a good, clean family holiday venue. Not a resort, though it has a nice pool area used frequently by young children and families.

Our room (unit 4) faced the road on the ground floor. It was noisy from the road, and people driving in to the premises. There is also poor noise insulation from the unit above and adjacent-you could hear furniture moving, chairs and plumbing, etc

The unit always smelt and felt a little damp- i think was because we were on the ground level.

We had a two bedroom ( double and 2 single beds) and the unit was too small if you had 4 adults / teenagers. Lounge seating for 2 people only, no dining table.

Kitchen was small but totally suitable for the size.

The bathroom was a good size with a shower per the bath. The shower head was low at about 5" so the spray was into your face, not over your head. (Unless your under 5" of course!).

Three air conditioners and fans kept the unit cool.

The complex felt safe, had onsite booking and service desk and sold the basic groceries you'd need ( milk, chocolate etc!!)

It's a safe 4 min walk to the beach, and about 10 mins to town.

I would recommend this complex, but request a unit in the rear building, on the top floor to avoid the noise issues, and take a max of three adults/ teenagers, even if the unit advertises as a 4 person.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefClubPortDouglas, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thankyou for your review. There is lounge setting in that room for 4. A 2 seater couch and 2 matching cane chairs and we sell our rooms as alfresco dining on the balcony where there are a table and 4 chairs.
Some of the rooms can smell a little damp at times but we are in the tropics and yes you were closer to the ground and the damp smell can come from the garden.
Hope other than this you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

This is a good low cost accomodation and accommodates all age groups but is probably more for the families with the younger children.
Perfect location within walking distance from the main strip. Also close to the beach for a big walk along 4 mile beach.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.6 km away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 42 in Port Douglas
47 reviews
1.0 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
1.2 km away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#38 of 42 in Port Douglas
207 reviews
2.8 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Club Resort

Address: 62-64 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: RM451 - RM769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing the perfect base to explore the nearby Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, Reef Club Resort offers quality 4 Star accommodation in an excellent location. Reef Club is just a minute's walk from the world famous 4 Mile Beach and a 10 min stroll from the vibrant Cafes, Bars and Restaurants of Macrossan St. The self-contained apartments have a rustic Mediterranean feel with terracotta floors, timber louvers and earthy tones reflecting the tropical style of North Queensland. Offering one and two bedroom apartments, Reef Club is the perfect getaway for couples and families. After a day taking in the sights and sounds of the many Port Douglas attractions and tours, Reef Club provides a private ambience and cool retreat in the tropics. Surrounded by tropical foliage and shady palms the swimming pool and outdoor spa is the perfect place to bask in the tropical sun or have a barbeque where you can enjoy fresh local seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Club Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing