We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$185
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$181
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$222
US$208
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

By The Sea Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$238
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Villas Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$242
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$158
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shantara Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$376
US$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Plaza Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
69
91
51
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
91
51
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq areaminute walk to the shopsbedroom apartmentmain shoppingclose to townbbq facilitiesmacrossan stnice poolliving areaself containedgreat place to stayfamily holidayheated poolschool holidaysan easy walkfantastic locationbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The two bedroom apartment we had was very small. Not the type of apartment that you would relax in for any length of time. The balcony was also tiny.
Two bedrooms one bathroom. The second bedroom just had louvre dividers between beds and kitchenette. So definitely no noise barrier between rooms.
We have stayed in Port Douglas many times. We liked the quick access to the beach and we found the walking to town relaxing.
I know lots of places do this but I find it really stingy that for a week long stay you get one towel each! More available at a cost. One garbage bag and two tiny dishwashing detergent sachets. Paying to go to the basement to use their onsite washing machines is also another cost.
The pool was heated and most days we could get a sunned.
The staff were nice but there was certainly no offer of help for us all to lug the suitcases up three flights of stairs on our arrival.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor if you don't like stairs. No lift.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank melpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My husband and i stayed in a two bedroom apartment that over looked both the Bbq area and swimming pool area from our own private balcony. We could not of asked for a better apartment it was spacious, clean, comfortable and fully self contained for a very affordable price.
The apartment is also walking distance to shops and the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 45
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank centrestateconve2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefClubPortDouglas, Owner at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thankyou for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Reef Club Resort and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Our one bedroom apartment was ok with a balcony overlooking the pool.there was no in

door table or chairs, the balcony had a small table and 2 chairs. The apartment was an easy walk to the beach and a twenty minute walk to town.The apartment was quite dark with inadequate light to read at night.This is a large apartment block and can be noisy.The shower was over the bath which can be a problem for some?.The bed and linen were good.

Room Tip: Go on the third (top floor) there is no lift ?
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 415Tony279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefClubPortDouglas, Owner at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We only have outdoor eating as we advertise as Alfresco dining which is commonplace in Far North Queensland. Also noisy as it is currently peak season and all apartments are full so noise is hard to avoid.........a common problem at most places in peak season. As for showers over baths again commonplace up here due to age of buildings but something as new owners we are hoping to rectify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

After a long drive it was good to finally get to the hotel, a bit hard to find the room as reception works 8am to 5pm and there are only limited carparks but that aside, the rooms were well set out and a private balcony was a great place to sit and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: W had a two bedroom apartment, it had everything we needed, close to beach and shops
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My mum, two kids and I booked through flight centre for an 8 day stay. The assumption in using a travel agent - is that they do the research!!! what a mistake that was!!!
We were hoping for a relaxing and comfortable warm vacation, where we could sit by the pool and enjoy the sun. The accommodation was so very disappointing! We had to get out as much as possible to avoid being there!!!

We booked two 2 bedroom apartments, ended up on opposite ends of the "resort". The girls and I were on second floor - and were just given a map and told where it was - no help carrying any of the bags up to the second floor.

They say free internet - but it doesn't work at all.

Both were dirty. The rooms I had with the kids were in desperate need of updating - everything looking v tired...even the soap dish (held by a metal ring) broke off immediately - where it became obvious it had broken before as it had rusted completely through - and had just been balanced on to look good. (until it fell off again!!) When told about it - management ignored until the Once weekly clean (hard to define it as a clean - as there were still cobwebs and dirt in every corner of every room) - where it was balanced back on!!! Rooms are not serviced more than once a week. Hair dryer and kettle also broken - and when told, management ignored until second time we mentioned it ....finally a new hairdryer came (day before we left) (kettle was replaced on day 2 tho)
They charge for toilet paper (!!!) and towels, and to use the ancient washing machines in the garage (which really don't wash anymore!!) ($4 per load of washing and another $4 for dryer). We were paying over $500 per night for the two units...the second bedroom was tiny and in our apptm 59, it didn't even have a window.

No windows have any glass - just metal shutters - which don't keep out the noise or the cigarette smoke from other units...where people are constantly smoking through the night....not to mention parties.

When mum mentioned we were unhappy to management - the comment was "you should have done more research"!!!

Overall - it was just the worst accommodation we have rented in a very long time - and we have done quite a bit of travelling locally and internationally. We had a quick look at the backpackers locally - and it was cleaner and nicer....definitely a better choice! Would not recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: just don't
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank tullyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefClubPortDouglas, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

We are terribly sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here at The Reef Club Resort. Perhaps in the future you should do some research yourself as to the type of accommodation you have booked and not just rely on a travel agent.
Yes you did book two apartments but we had no request for those apartments to be together and even if we had it is not always possible to do so especially in our busy season as people have already booked a year ahead and made their requests.
We did however see the request for a lower floor for your mother and made sure that was accommodated for.
You also need to realise that Reef Club is advertised as "Self Catering" apartments and not serviced as is the case with much of the accommodation here in Port Douglas. We therefore do not have concierges and such to carry bags and assist you to your room but I am sure if you had requested help we would have assisted.
As for the cleanliness of the room. I personally check the rooms and I know they were thoroughly cleaned. As we are self catering apartments they are serviced only if you stay 8 nights or more on the 7th day and is only a service not a full clean.
As for the hairdryer we knew nothing about it until the day before you left and I personally went and brought a new one and as it turned out there was actually nothing wrong with the old one.
The laundry and machines are perfectly adequate and maintained by an outside company and we have no other complaints. In fact I use them and they wash everything very well.
Again yes we do charge for toilet paper and other amenities after your initial stock as we are advertised as self catering.
There is no glass on the windows as most places here use louvres due to the tropical environment and is a standard building practice in far north Queensland.
You did not pay over $500 a night for the 2 apartments and if you wanted fully serviced apartments you would have to pay considerably more than you did.
Majority of people who stay with us love the place and a lot are return guests and if you read any reviews that we have received on here and other sites since we took over at the end of March 2017 they have all been positive.
As for the internet, it does work but in busy periods it can be a little slow due to the amount of people using it. Also again we are in far north Queensland and the internet can be generally unreliable. It is free and unlimited so hard to complain about.
Next time you book check what type of place you are booking in to and maybe a 5 star resort may be more to your liking but you will be paying a lot more than what you paid here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews