We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”

Tropic Sands Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropic Sands Apartments
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at unit 13 which was not satisfactory. The outlet in the shower had no cover resulting in my foot slipping into the drain causing damage to the foot and a visit to the doctor. As I am 80 years of age and have been on pain killers which made our 6 week stay very unpleasant.As a result of the accident in the shower our plans to drive back to Brisbane were shelved and both us and the car had to travel by train which incurred an additional expense. The unit was dirty and tired. The shower was filthy and full of mould,kettle,radio and phone did not work and pillows were filthy. The foul language we had to endure from the units next door was unacceptable.The fact that there is no resident manager did not help.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

All apartments have a tropical theme design matching to the surroundings right around. For the self contained a well equipped kitchen / laundry is present. The apartment block is neat, clean and well maintained throughout. Ones privacy is underlined where needed with tropical gardens right around, well shielded from adjoined dwellings. If the sea is choppy or stingers are present at the beach, a swimming pool with alfresco facilities are within.
As beach, parks, sports-grounds, shops, restaurants are all in close range, ones car can stay safely parked in the underground car-park. This all for a more then fair price, especially for Port Douglas. So what are you waiting for, pack up and go! No regrets that we did so.

Room Tip: they are all nice, an air con is in every apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4x4Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a very pleasant stay although the breakfasts were very disappointing. No fruit in sight and overall it was very unimaginative. What a shame when Queensland must be bursting with fruit. Otherwise a very good stay and the apartments were well equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Greetings Readers, this year’s trip to Port Douglas has been a low budget impromptu affair for Salty and Missus Croc. About a month ago Missus Croc was empowered to seek her destiny in an alternate career path as an enhanced leisure consumer. This left us both a bit glum and in need of some tropical sun. So we booked a cheapie week in Port Douglas. Gone are the days of beach view balconies, austerity is the new black and you can‘t get much more austere than the Tropic Sands at 21 Davidson Street.

The Tropic Sands is a somewhat over-the-hill complex of 16 one/two bedroom apartments. It has definitely seen better days, but all is not lost for visitors because it has recently been taken over by the Latitude 16 Group, who run a number of fine properties in Port Douglas and who have clearly embarked on a program to spruce up the Tropic Sands. Our unit was at the rear of the complex and overlooked an abandoned house that had all the charm of a crack den. While abandoned homes and their occasional occupants are not my idea of holiday neighbors, this place was well and truly empty so that it was at least quiet. Nevertheless, the view was hardly one of four mile beach.

The complex exterior had just been painted and that looked good. The pool was more the size of a very large tub, but the salt water was warm and beautiful, which is just what this old Croc’s bones needed to soak in. There was a rusty old bbq by the pool enclosure with burners stuck in the on position so that it just about exploded when I ignited it. On the second night I almost took my eyebrows off in the ignition firestorm. Fortunately some other user then left the gas bottle open so that it emptied and I was unable to use the thing again, which was probably good as I have no desire to risk a trip to a Queensland Health regional hospital given their recent history of staff hiring.

Down below the units there was ample parking with a bicycle rack and a communal laundry room with two new washers and recent model dryers (although some bogan had broken off one of the dry timer knobs so that it ran like a perpetual motion carbon-guzzling machine).
The interior of the unit was tired and needed some work. There was an ancient refrigerator that occasionally omitted a bang but kept temperature. The full-sized oven worked, but the smoke that poured out of it when I turned it on set off the smoke detector and I quickly gave up any thought of using it again in order to preserve what is left of my failing hearing. The two electric burners on the stove top were rusted to bits and the craters in them brought back nostalgic memories of Neil Armstrong’s moon walk.

The shower enclosure and bathroom water heater were new but were set to dangerously scolding temperatures making it a significant challenge to shower without further aggravating my sunburn. The blinds and décor were very tired and the springs from the ancient mattress left indentations in my back. The housekeeping could have been better as there was a great deal of sand throughout the unit and the blankets of all things (I don’t want to contemplate where they had been.)

It was not all negative. On the positive side of the ledger, there was a brand new cheapie television and Austar cable box. (For some strange reason, the tv speakers were place in the rear of the unit and also faced that direction so that the sound was wonderful when sitting directly behind the unit. No much good when watching it from the front!) It was nice to find cable TV as it let me indulge my beach holiday viewing habit of watching the wrestling in the afternoon while Missus Croc hides from the mid-day sun. Fortunately she has learned to accept this aspect of my character and given up complaining about it. So, while I watched John Cena prepare to square off against C.M. Punk at the night of champions, she just sighed and read about Jennifer Anniston’s big fat Greek wedding to the latest poor sucker whose soul and wallet she will devour like a praying mantis.

In summary, you get what you pay for. You don’t pay a great deal for the Tropic Sands and you get a no frills holiday unit with reasonable foot access to town and the beach. When you are in a pinch, like us, it will do just fine and, dollar for dollar, it is probably better value than some of the upmarket places that charge $280/night.

Room Tip: Avoid the units facing Davidson Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank saltycroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for a week over Easter and we were really really happy with this accommodation. It is located within 2mins to the main street and 2 mins to four mile beach. Modern facilities and comfy bed! Only negative is that we never got clean towels but there are free laundry facilities. Would recommend and Defo stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deemolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
3.8 km away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
0.7 km away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
212 reviews
0.2 km away
Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
249 reviews
1.1 km away
Pink Flamingo
Pink Flamingo
#10 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
0.5 km away
Reef Club Resort
Reef Club Resort
#33 of 42 in Port Douglas
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Sands Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Sands Apartments

Address: 21 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: RM308 - RM670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropic Sands Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Sands is a small tropical style accommodation complex with one bedroom apartments and is ideally suited to adults and couples. The property features a handy location amongst the palms and native trees, and only a short walk from Four Mile Beach, the Marina and Port Douglas Village. The apartments provide a communal barbeque area, outdoor swimming pool, complimentary undercover car parking and tour booking service (located at nearby Beaches Resort on The Esplanade). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropic Sands Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing