We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great position for an Apartment in Port Douglas”

Tropic Sands Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropic Sands Apartments
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Tropic Sands Apartments
21 Davidson Street
Port Douglas QLD 4877

The apartments are situated approx. 3oo metres from the main shopping centre, restaurants, hotels, the market and 150 metres from the surf beach. Port Douglas is a great place to stay. There is plenty to see and do and the countryside is spectacular. The apartment we had was on the top floor, there being a basement and ground floor. There is good parking in the basement. It was well appointed and there were two television sets, one in the bedroom and the other in the lounge area which had FOXTELL. There is also an air conditioning unit in the main recreation room which would service both the main room and the bedroom. Our apartment had a balcony that overlooked the pool in the adjoining motel but it was private and reasonably quiet. The pool in the motel was in the front and is small and the barbecue which is new in situated inside of the pool enclosure. There is a laundry in the basement with two good washing machines and three dryers but the laundry has no bench space.
There were a few small things in the apartment which required maintenance but if you want a well-priced apartment that is close to everything then it’s hard to go past the Tropic Sands on Davidson Street.
We would book again.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Port Douglas was fully booked and we ended up staying here. The apartment we had was dark and had no view. It made it very quiet as a result, but if you are in for light and views, make sure you ask for second floor. The location is great, just around the corner from the beach and Macrossan Street.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We had problems with a leaking toilet on the first day we were there, but after contacting the off-sight managers for the complex, a plumber arrived to fix it. However, we needed to call him back again. After the 2nd visit, there were no more leaks, so prompt repair service.
The apartment complex was very close to the main street, and had ample off-street parking under the building. The lay-out of the one-bedroomed apartment was adequate, and comfortable, with all that we required.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the 1st floor - although a fair way back from the road, it was very close to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piglet1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Great location 5 minutes walk to beach and town. Quiet basic accommodation, clean but not fancy. Cleaner blankets, bed linen would have even nice as I have ashma and woke up wheezing at night. Dust mites in blankets maybe but I am very sensitive. Would have liked to know reception is not manned before we arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suffti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. It was fairly spacious with a basic but useable kitchen. The location is great, its less than 5 minutes to the beach in one direction and the same to town in the other direction. The apartment is basic, its not the prettiest/most modern place around (but for the price its reasonable). Check in is not on site but down the road (a 2 minute walk). There is a nice but small pool area out the front (we, like most people, just went to the beach). Ample car parking underneath building. My only gripe is the bedding - it was two twin beds pushed together with no cover over the top. Making it just two twin beds not a king as you can't sleep in the middle. The mattresses were hard and the sheets rough. Its a pretty minor problem but perhaps something for management to work on. All up a well priced apartment in a great location.

Room Tip: Upper levels would probably have a more private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
3.8 km away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
0.7 km away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
212 reviews
0.2 km away
Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
249 reviews
3.3 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
891 reviews
1.2 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Sands Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Sands Apartments

Address: 21 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: RM308 - RM673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropic Sands Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Sands is a small tropical style accommodation complex with one bedroom apartments and is ideally suited to adults and couples. The property features a handy location amongst the palms and native trees, and only a short walk from Four Mile Beach, the Marina and Port Douglas Village. The apartments provide a communal barbeque area, outdoor swimming pool, complimentary undercover car parking and tour booking service (located at nearby Beaches Resort on The Esplanade). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropic Sands Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing