We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Lagoon to delight”
Review of Peppers Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We booked (a last minute booking with request for lagoon view) for 2 nights, spa room for 2 people. On arrival we received our room key and were disappointed at the room we were given (poky room, ground floor, close to lagoon but no view). The resort was fairly quiet and I was told a few days earlier when enquiring about rooms that there was ample availability. My husband went back to reception and mentioned that we requested a lagoon view room and we were relocated to the 2nd floor - to a more spacious room (same rate) which was filled with light and views over the lagoon. I thought this was quite unusual considering there were plenty of rooms available. Anyway, we had a lovely room with a spa on the balcony, bed was comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities, bar fridge, nice bathroom with large shower.
Continental breakfast included, nice small selection of fruits, cereals and breads. Also available for purchase was a cooked breakfast menu.
The lagoon is amazing, ample loungers on the sandy lagoon edge. Ideal for families with small children. Lunch and drinks are brought to you by the lagoon if requested. Lunch menu is smallish and reasonably priced. Happy hour drinks are affordable.
Staff all very friendly and accommodating. We were also given a late checkout which was great. Regardless of the room allocation I would still rate this hotel as very high. Location is also fantastic, walking distance (not even 5 minutes) to the main street, and very close to the beach.

Room Tip: Lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crea8ive_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,390 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at Peppers for 5 nights in mid January. We arrived at the hotel a little early, and were greated by Gavin who made us feel welcome straight away. He gave us the option to use the hotel facilities while we waited for our room. We opted to go out for lunch instead. Gavin took our bags to our room and also assisted us throughout the whole stay when we needed conceirge assistance. All other staff that we encountered at the resort were also friendly and helpful!

We had a two bedroom apartment (one whole apartment, not one with adjoining rooms as this did not suit us as we had our two year old with us). The bedrooms each had an airconditioner and were beautifully appointed. The bathroom had two entrances from each bedroom. But please note that the bathroom had shower only, which was fine for us. We didn't need for anything in this apartment everything all provided. We had a large balcony with BBQ which we enjoyed one afternoon. The rooms were cleaned daily and the cleaning staff were excellent. Our apartment faced a back street (with the plunge pool rooms below us). We were glad we did not face the pool, but that was our preference.

The best thing about this stay was that we had all the necessities of home - kitchen, laundry, two bedrooms as well as hotel service. We tried to get to the magnifcent pool as often as we could (especially when not raining) and on our return we would find our room clean but also the dishwasher put on and things put away for us. Every parent's dream!!!!

The pool was the drawcard for us. Our toddler loved playing in the sand and there were toys, noodles, buckets and balls available to play with.

I enjoyed a couple of cocktails by the pool, all brought over to me by the staff.

Perhaps the only negative about our stay was the driveway to the underground garage. It was incredibly steep and our rental car did scrape along the edge of the driveway no matter how slow we drove.

The location was excellent. We were walking distance to the main street in Port Douglas.

We got a great deal with the Peppers website. 'Experience Peppers' option gave us one night free. Also, using the Entertainment card code we also received an extra 10% discount for our entire stay.

We loved this hotel. I was so impressed that I will continue to look at Peppers options when I book my next holiday.

Room Tip: Ring hotel reservations before you book. They explain the differences between the apartments and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Booked a 4 night stay over the Aus Day long weekend for some much needed r&r. Having previously stayed at both Sea Temple P Douglas and P Cove, (and loved it!) I was a little hesitant when booking Peppers, thinking it might not live up to expectations. That soon changed as soon as we arrived. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Was upgraded to a penthouse suite overlooking the beach pool. The room was great! Full kitchen & laundry, modern and very comfortable. The lagoon pool would have to be the standout, just like being at the beach without the waves. Spent most days lazying on the sand with a cocktail in hand! Large double day beds were also a plus. Only dined at the restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Continental breakfast was inc in our stay - which was ok, lunch was much better. Small issue with the 'tiny' salmon portion for lunch which was later resolved. Initially planned to dine at the restaurant for dinner though just little put off by the casual 'cafe' like decor and atmosphere. The day spa, level 1 rooms, pool bar, toilets and pool are all accessed via the restaurant! This is a tiny issue in what was a memorable stay. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woofiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Lovely three day stay here at Peppers. Our Room allowed easy access to the pool and we were able to keep an eye on our three children. Surprisingly smooth and much appreciated check in experience even though we were early arrivals. Very helpful and happy staff. On the down side we did not appreciate having to pay for the WiFi, other than that everything was perfect.
Peppers is very convenient to town which has several really nice restaurants. We only stayed for three days but enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SizieandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We are a family of 5 with 3 young ladies for daughters. We stayed between 19th - 28th January in rooms 325 & 326. This was a two bedroom apartment dual key to a motel style room. It was on the 3rd floor. Despite reading some of the bad reviews I cannot say anything but compliment the place, service and everything in between. Yes there were children playing in the pool early in the morning but nothing to bother us with. Some writers have complained regarding privacy or there be it lack of using the spa on the balcony. We did not have an issue with this as we were on the 3rd floor and had all the privacy we wanted. We got a really good deal through the Entertainment Book however we chose not to include breakfast due to the bad reviews. Our bad cause we did eat there one night and it was lovely. They also do happy hour between 5 - 6 everynight. We had the tail end of Cyclone Oswald and whenever we asked the staff on the status they were right on the ball even to the point on the impact the cyclone would have on some of the tours and therefore saved us quite a lot of money. They also gave us some great suggestions for dinner outside the resort. Although it is a 5 minute walk to the main street, due to the cyclone and time of year many nights during our stay it was raining heavily. We discoverd a shuttle service that picks you up and takes you to the main street for only $2p/p. Once again the staff were quite helpfull in calling them and organizing for us to be picked up. We had a few minor issues with the rooms eg. blown light bulb, constant running water in our toilet but as soon as we advised them they were right on it. One criticisim is the entrance and exit to their carpark. We hired a car for a couple of days. Watch out - there are signs up both ends to say it is steep. But every time we entered or exited it the bottom of our car scraped. They really need to do something about this ! On the whole this place is wonderful and we will definitely be back to see all the things we couldn't this time around. P.S. The beds were very comfy !

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for the 3rd floor. Also you need to book ahead for a spa treatment as it doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneWithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.6 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,062 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
742 reviews
4.4 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
12.4 km away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club

Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: RM 604 - RM 1,404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing