We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine list”
Review of Zinc Port Douglas

Zinc Port Douglas
Ranked #30 of 133 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Zinc opened in 2004 and has become one of Port’s iconic venues, a must do while in Port Douglas. Whether on vacation, celebrating that special occasion, or a casual catch up with family or friends, Zinc offers an elegant space to connect and create memories. Located on the vibrant Macrossan street only a stone’s throw away from the picturesque Four Mile Beach, Zinc takes full advantage of the warm sea breeze adding to a unique tropical dining experience. Zinc’s dedicated cocktail bar is open daily from 12pm until late. Boasting a large selection of wine, tap beer and specialty cocktails. Our bar menu compliments a “sit back and relax” attitude with a superb selection of small bites, through to something a little more substantial. Reservations highly recommended during peak season.
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Easily the most extensive wine list in Port Douglas by a big margin. Included a few white varietals that the other places haven’t heard of. Had a Spanish Albarino $52 which worked well. About 2.5 times retail which is the going rate in PD.

Food was pleasant. Bruschetta followed by a snapper in coconut and tamarind sauce $38. Served in a wide bowl which meant everything in the sauce. Would’ve been nice on a large flat plate giving me the option of sauce or not. Very close to being overcooked but saved just in time.

Service is casual and pleasant rather than stuffy and formal. Not as good as the exceptional Seabean but enjoyable.

Fair value but very much a good evening.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank robmE2668EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

I have to say we booked this lunch from New Zealand to get into the groove of a day in the life of Australia. As everything stops for this race. Was not sure what to expect but arrived to a well organised well set up very professional day. The glass of Moet as we walked was very welcoming The canapés as we sat and enjoyed our champagne were amazing. As we were seated at our table and we watched the amazing kitchen staff do their bit. They were a well oiled machine and the floor staff complemented them The food was exceptional. I even won a spot prize of a magnum of champagne. I was stoked. We will be going again in the next few days. And if this is a sign of what they can do. We will definitely be back for the event next year. Well done guys to you and ALL of your staff

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sue2016738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Special event done 110%! The Zinc team really turned it on for a fantastic event ran like clockwork. Walked in and handed a glass of Moet Chandon Brut Imperial. Nice. Canapés were outstanding and no shortage. Croquettes, Tuna, Salmon, Pork Belly, Barramundi and something of a tropical nature - mojito oyster shooters. Awesome.
Next glass of Moet Chandon Brut Rose and a very detailed chicken salad. Fresh and light meal paired with the Rose - perfection.
Next glass of Moet ( yes the lunch was a Moet Chandon theme) was a Grand Cru Vintage 2009 with a lovely black reef kingfish with a sand crab “cigar”. Perfection.
Next wine was the Moet and Chandon Imperial Ice (served with a bowl of large ice cubes) which helped with the 31 degree heat. Dessert was a marscapone tart with strawberries and white chocolate. Sighhhhh.
Service was great with a lovely smile and interaction was spot on. Watching the chefs in the kitchen was a show of organisational skills and a precise delivery of food.
Top marks and thanks for a great day. We will be back this week to try out the “normal” food but if this is anything to go by I am expecting top service and with the skills of the kitchen a very enjoyable meal.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NZFoodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

I would say that this resturant is the best restaurant in Port Douglas, fine dining at its best.
The SALMON CARPACCIO is to die for,
I took my husband for date night and i was totally impressed.
Good work zinc

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank davidforrester47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

From the moment we entered the restaurant and were ignored by the nearest waiter, more intent on playing with her iPad than attending to us, I knew it was not going to be a great night. Unfortunately that same rude waiter was allocated to our table.
Not only could we not understand her but she was totally inflexible in meeting one of our party's request to slightly modify a meal.
.In retrospect I should have asked for another waiter.
The sashimi, although good on paper did not come near the normal sashimi you expect at a Japanese restaurant. By contrast that at Zipangu and Watergate ran rings around it.
The wine list was very limited.
The overall cost was only $5 less/couple than Watergate the following night. Zinc was not in the same class.
We will not be returning when next holidaying in Port Douglas

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 2HappyAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zinc Port Douglas also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Zinc Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing