We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
62
97
35
16
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
97
35
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak historic hotel the river pork ribs meals were great criteria australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2021

What an iconic pub! It was recommended that we visit for lunch and it didn't disappoint. The food was a tad slow in coming but we ordered after a large group booking, so is to be expected. We sat and ate in the front bar and watched the world go by, enjoying the Fitzroy River. I loved all the memorabilia on the walls - so much to take in with lots of old photos and history.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Service
Thank redhotchillivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

I turned up without a booking for dinner on a Tuesday night. After sipping a cool beer overlooking the Fitzroy river and admiring the buildings architecture, I went inside to look for a table. It was busy, and the only empty tables had 'Reserved' on them, a lovely Lady named 'Ty' found me a table, amongst all the busy goings on. She was a perfect hostess! :) . I ordered the 400g 'Popular' Rump, rare, and it certainly did not disappoint!. Served with Vegetables and Baked potato. (Potato came wrapped in foil, a thing of which I am not a fan, but that's neither here nor there) Steak was succulent and tende3r, paired beautifully with a Barossa Shiraz, a lovely evening! :) Thank you Criterion Rocky, and thank you Ty1 :)

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elston A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2021

The hotel was old. Rickety with very outdated design, creaky beds and mouldy walls. Everything worked fine, and was clean, it was just old. The food at the pub downstairs was subpar. We got our food after a 40 minute wait without utensils. If was also called, and we had to waive down a waiter for the utensils which took an extra 5 minutes, during which we could only stare at our steaks unable to eat it. For the quality which we received, the food was overpriced. I'm sure if it was hot it would've been worth it as it was cooked perfectly, it just seemed like it was sitting on a bench for half an hour before we got it.

Most importantly, we stayed on a weekend, in which there was a live band playing until late hours at night. It was loud. We were all unable to sleep until it stopped very late (between 11-12am). The setting was nice, and it wasnt the most horrible stay especially since we paid a low price.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Raretraveller2146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

We came to the Criterion for a steak given Rockhampton’s reputation as the beef capital of Australia. It’s a charming historic pub with a family vibe and friendly staff. Given it was a Saturday night, there was a significant wait for our meals of over an hour. We were prepared to endure such a wait, given our expectations and hunger for a juicy, mouth-watering slab of bovine. However, much to our collective dismay, what was eventually presented to us was suboptimal, to say the least. A dry, overcooked, gristly, tough, wedge of meat was paired with a lacklustre salad, soggy chips and stodgy pork ribs. Given our hunger and the time of night, we had no choice but to choke down on the edible elements of the plate. Our experience provided us with a free digestif of buyers remorse. On providing feedback to the waitstaff, we were informed that the 250gr Rump was “a bit hit and miss”. We found this a bit hard to swallow given the pricing and the location. If you enjoy the tough old leathery steak that Dave serves you at his kid’s 2nd birthday BBQ, the Criterion is the place for you.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SamuelCFSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

We were in Rockhampton for 1 night and it was recommended that we have dinner at the Criterion Hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful with loads of heritage features. However unfortunately that's were it ends. We had a 7.30pm booking and the staff made a big deal about seating us in the upstairs section, we thought wow it must be an amazing area.

Don't be fooled, it's a 3 step up to an extra sitting area in a pretty ordinary dinning room. On arrival in the dinning room area the male staff member was quite strange and kept asking my husband where was he from and said he had a strange accent. We are from Brisbane and there is no accent.

We proceeded to order within the first 10 minutes and my eldest son ordered the beef lasagne. We were told 40 minutes later that alas no beef lasagne was left and that he would have to pick something else from the menu. We did not get our meals until 9.15pm and at that point we had a very grumpy 14 and 9 year old wanting their dinners. I ordered the famed steak (Rib eye 300g) that others have mentioned - it certainly was not worth the hype. It was dry and tasteless.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susanrG303OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews