We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Crown Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I am generally very fussy about where I stay, and can be a bit of a hotel snob. I booked a standard 2 double bed room with ocean views for our Christmas holiday break commencing boxing day 2012. I decided on Crown Towers because during the peak season I did not want to spend top price. The location is good as it is closer to the Broadbeach area rather than Surfers Paradise which I do not like. Near the beach, a good 10 min walk,better to drive 2 minutes around the corner.

There are two pools, one a very good size and nice surrounds. The other is handy when there are winds. When entering the hotel you do notice that it is a fairly old hotel that is feeling a little tired, but the rooms have been refurbished, so are clean and fresh; and the bathrooms are very nicely appointed. The bath is seperate to the shower which is a plus in my books. The beds are not the best. They are standard hard hotel beds, rather than the nice pillow top super comfy beds that other more luxurious hotels promote. Overall my husband, four year old and I were very comfortable in the room. Housekeeping was excellent.

The buffet breakfast was the best that I have ever enjoyed. Sarah, the matre de for breakfast was always very attentive and friendly, always remembering our names and our favourite table.
Room service was excellent, fast, hot and very good selection, particularly for children; and quite reasonably priced for room service which is always expensive. We ate dinner at the restuarant downstairs as we were too tired to head over to the Broadbeach restaurants, and we had a lovely, relaxed meal.

The staff were always attentive and friendly, particularly Danielle Marshall on checkout.
So overall, no its not the Sheraton, but you don't pay Sheraton; and I have to say that we had a really terrific stay and will return. Super clean,friendly staff, very good amenities, good views. You don't need much more

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm88ByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear mm88ByronBay,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for the extensive and thorough review of your experience. I will certainly pass on your feedback directly to Sarah and Danielle as they are both very guest focused individuals and they will certainly appreciate your comments.
Once again, thank you for choosing to have your Christmas break with us on the Gold Coast and I do hope we have the pleasure of your company once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,277 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely comfortable stay - we will be back.
Beautiful beds - executive rooms have lovely baths!
Free parking makes the stay very good value for money too.
--------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Sharonp 1953,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and I am very pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Thanks again,
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked an ocean view room through Priority Privilege using a 2 nights for the price of 1 voucher. When making my booking, and selecting the 2 for 1 voucher tab, the prices displayed for the room selection were already discounted 50%. This was not made clear and leads you to thinking it is the full nightly rate. Thus when it came time to check out, the total was actually double what I had anticipated having to pay. I feel the wording when making the booking is ambiguous and I am very sure I am not the only one to make this mistake ( as pointed out by the receptionist ).

Despite that, the room was very spacious, clean with full bar service, free parking and a beautiful ocean view. So despite paying more than I expected, I was still very happy with the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Shereen G,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for being a loyal member of our Priority Privilege Club. Please do not ever hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you require clarification on special member offers, as I am aware you receive a number of vouchers with your membership pack.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again, next time you are visiting Australia.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

it's a bit far from the vibrant part of surfer's paradise, around 15 min walk. the room was just amazing! very clean and comfortable and the view to the ocean is stunning! over all the services and staff were also great. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear ChristianeNSW,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us last November and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.
I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed 8 nights at this hotel last week, with a friend and my 9 year old daughter. The staff were so welcoming and helpful during our stay and we couldn't of asked for anything more. We had a ocean view twin room with fabulous views and my daughter practically lived in the pool every arvo after we got bk from our aadventures. The pool was a great size 1.1m which was wonderful to use for kids or adults wanting to cool down. Concierege staff were amazing as you never felt like you couldn't ask them anything and i asked a lot lol. Short taxi ride to surfers township which cost approx $9-$11 and bus stops on either side just a hop step and a jump. Ordered room service and the food was delicious and didn't cost the earth. Overall my daughter loved the hotel so i couldn't ask for much more :)

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms def have a beautiful view levels 10 up :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Nicki A,
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise for your accommodation needs during your recent visit to the Gold Coast.
I am thrilled to hear you and (especially) your daughter enjoyed our services and facilities and that we met your expectations.
Thank you for sharing your comments accordingly and I hope we can be of service to you once again when you visit from New Zealand.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.7 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
552 reviews
1.3 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,813 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,802 reviews
2.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,061 reviews
1.6 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: RM408 - RM1,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing