We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
316
249
73
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
249
73
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar shaker rooftop pool great location leagues club holiday inn centre of town across the road flinders street central location buffet breakfast bed and pillows castle hill street parking room service magnetic island business trip enjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I stayed here for business and pleasure for 5 nights and here's how it went.

LOCATION: 5 stars, bang in the middle of town, with everything you need around you.

SERVICE: Super friendly, super efficient, super nice. Just super!

PRICE: I was very happy with the King room price and when I checked in I was even upgraded to a balcony room free of charge.....awesome!!

ROOM: Great shower, comfy bed, beautiful views, great a/c - nil complaints.

OTHER STUFF: Pool is roof top and really clean. The gym is nice, I had room service 1 night and the food was GOOD.

OVERALL: A very very nice stay and I would return in a heartbeat. Thankyou guys.

5/5

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aussie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Aussie73,

Thanks so much for your Magnifico 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found all aspects of your stay to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Great relaxing weekend. Went for the Air force air show on the Strand and base. Easy walking distance to Strand. Food was good, climate was good- not to hot, views were great, pool enjoyable, room comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y4718DEcharlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Y4718DEcharlesh,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay, particularly our fantastic location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Excellent location, very friendly and professional staff, clean room and very comfortable beds and pillows. We had dinner in the restaurant, once again good service and food was well presented and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 770joanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear 770joanc,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.

It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the food and the service, something that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute as we wanted to see the townsville air show without getting down into the crowds. Booking in was fine, they gave us a ticket for parking but didn't mention there was a cost involved either to us or the people booking in front of us. I knew of it from reading the reviews on here but still think it should be brought to the guests attention.
The room was clean and tidy, everything you need but the air-con a shocker, I'm a local and still woke up in the middle of the night sweating due to it taking forever to get down to temp.
There was posters for guests to enjoy the airshow from the roof top which stated food and beverages were available yet I didn't see anything. We raced downstairs and across the road to the coffee club missing some of the show. I feel more could have been done with this including maybe putting the radio over the loudspeaker so guests could have a commentary of the show, having a staff member up there asking if people wanted to order anything....even for a portion of the time.
Overall the hotel was fine but definitely needs work with the management.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Tracy W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to the air conditioning in your room and the communication of the parking charges.

In regards to the air show, as this was our first year since taking over the hotel we were unsure of how many people would go to the rooftop to watch. We were probably a little under prepared for this and will definitely improve our offering next time. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We hope that you do stay with us again in the future, so that we can demonstrate our true standards and our commitment to exceeding guest expectations.

Kind regards,

Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We were here to watch the T150 Airshow. The hotel allowed us to check in very early as it started at 1pm, Stephanie on the front desk was lovely and check in was done quickly. We had the Executive King room which was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony was great for watching the show as we had a view of the sea, city and the river. The only downside is no double glazing so outside noise was very audible ( even on the 18th floor ).This was the best reception we received in Townsville as unfortunately the bars and clubs do not seem very welcoming and need a few lessons in how to make tourists feel welcome.

Room Tip: Room 14 on the 18th floor has great views.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ishkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Ishkaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.

It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the room quality and the service, something that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews