We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
309
239
72
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
239
72
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar shakerrooftop poolgreat locationleagues clubholiday inncentre of townacross the roadflinders streetcentral locationbuffet breakfastbed and pillowscastle hillstreet parkingroom servicemagnetic islandbusiness tripenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Been to Townsville many times before,but I usually stay near the Strand.Because of availability l tried the Hotel Grand Chancellor,the rates were reasonable, and the location is still close enough to the Strand.Staff and the room were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gsteph655561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear gsteph655561,

Thank you for taking the time to write your complimentary review.

It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, it was great to see you still found our location convenient to get to the strand without needing to be right there. It is a nice easy walk from our property to get there.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Gray, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The main drawcard of this hotel is the central location, just minutes away from eateries and a supermarket. Facilities are modern and rooms are spacious and comfortable in this hotel despite its age. Everything worked. Service was friendly. Breakfast had a lot of choice. Wifi was strong.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear greenpossum,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Paul Gray, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

A goof all rounder if you want a meal that is good value. I’ve been eating here once a month for the last five years and its consistently good. But if you are in a rush forget it as had to wait 50min for lunch the other day. Food good, service ( speed) could certainly be better.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank SuzieII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Suziell,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your meals at the hotel, thank you also for the feedback on the service times. I was sorry to see you experienced a wait on your food order as generally the times would be much quicker than you have mentioned. Your feedback will be shared with the team here to review.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Paul Gray, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

In the center of Townsville Business District, opposite the Cowboys League Club. Very clean and quiet rooms, and close to all the sights. Only 15 minutes from Airport, and a short walk to the Strand. Wonderful staff, and the breakfast was amazing, filled me up for the day. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aussiemale1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Aussiemale1966,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice to read that you found the hotels location ideal and you were able to get a good breakfast in to start your day!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Paul Gray, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Staying at the hotel is disappointing the rooms are noisey it’s like loads of hot water cylinder filling up all night .. they get loader as the night goes
The staff weren’t helpful either

Need a good sleep if you away for work !
Not getting it tonight

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Mark W,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. I was sorry to see that you didn't have a restful night on your recent stay with us. Furthermore it was disappointing to read that you didn't get a satisfactory outcome from our team, as finding positive guest resolutions is an area they largely excel in. Your feedback will be shared with our management team so we can look into the room you stayed in and follow up with our staff in regards to the service provided.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again so we can demonstrate our true commitment to exceeding guest expectations.

Kind regards,

Paul Gray, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews