We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach(Mission Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctuary Retreat(Bingil Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tully Motel(Tully)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
King Reef Resort(Kurrimine Beach)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurrimine Beach Motel(Kurrimine Beach)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cardwell at the Beach(Cardwell)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moondarra Motel Innisfail(Innisfail)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
289
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail hourbeach houseplunge poolpicnic lunchother guestsour honeymoonseafood plattermission beachpre dinner cocktailsbehind the sceneschopper rideday bedfrench champagnemeal timesspecial thankssea legsmoment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

This resort and island are truly an experience that will leave you with no complaints. First of all, the island is private and breathtaking with natural rainforest and beachfront views that you could stare at endlessly. The staff is just absolutely phenomenal, each and every one of the staff makes an effort to make you feel special and extremely well taken care of. The food is so good my husband and I couldn’t wait until the next meal to enjoy the delights cooked up by the fab chefs.

Even though it rained on/off while we stayed on the island we were still able to kayak, swim, visit the Great Barrier Reef (40 min speed boat ride away & well worth it!) and enjoy walks around the island during our 3 day stay. During the day it basically feels like you have the island to yourself. You can actually take a dingy to one of the smaller islands around Bedarra and really have a whole island to yourself! The owners really have something special & totally worth every $$$! We are so thankful we got to experience this resort, I know it will be one of the best places I ever get to experience in my life!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gkg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the resort for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year’s eve.

Bedarra Island really feels like paradise. The hotel beach provides for stand-up paddle boards, kayaks and hammocks. On a usual afternoon, you get to enjoy the beach all by yourself. One of our best experiences was definitely discovering deserted beaches by going around the island with a kayak and setting over to other poorly visited islands with our own dinghi.

Also, the food was outstanding and can keep up with any gourmet restaurant. Every single meal was fresh, perfectly sampled and just delicious. Also the wine selection was fabulous.

However, a major downside of the hotel was the poor cleaniness and several cockroaches in our villa. During our first night, we found a cockroach in the bathroom and a 10cm bug on the ceiling above our bed (which we were told wasn‘t a cockroach but to us looked like one). When trying to get the vacuum cleaner from a little room beneath the stairs in order to get rid of the insects (because a spray was not provided for at that time and nobody was available at the reception at 11pm), we found another 6 dead cockroaches lying on the floor in the room beneath the stairs of our villa. Those were only removed after repeated requests. After that incident, the pipes and the room were sprayed with insect killers. Still, we had more cockroaches in the room during the next days, one even jumping out of my blouse when I took it out of the wardrobe. We were then told that cockroaches like the warm and humid weather and it is really hard to get rid of them. We understand that we might be a little sensible coming from Europe, but the bugs really impaired our well-being during the nights.

My parents did not have similar problems in their room so this might be a specific problem of our villa.

In addition, the room service was very poor for a luxury resort at that price level. After five days, the floor was not wiped once, thus becoming quite sandy and dead ants were lying around next to the Nespresso Machine and in the bathtub.

Another tip: Even though it is included, do not let your laundry be washed because it will look worse than before (see picture).

All in all, we had a fantastic and unforgettable time outside of our villa.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank JacquelineX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedarraGM, General Manager at Bedarra Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hi JacquelineX1

Thank you for your review and feedback on your experience at Bedarra.
We sincerely apologise for the issue you had regarding insects in your villa, and regret that it impacted the balance of your stay.

Part of the attraction of our villas is that they are hidden within the tropical rainforest, however this also happens to be a habitat we share with insects. At certain times of year insects can be more active than others, and unfortunately, they do occasionally get into the villas.

All our villas are fully screened which is normally effective keeping insects outside when required, however in your situation it seems the screens were not adequate.
These sorts of occurrences are rare, and thank you for noting that your parents did not have a similar issue in their villa.

All our villas have insect spray, located in a relatively conspicuous place, however it is unfortunate no-one was available to show you where it was located that particular evening at 11:00pm. Our Reception is generally staffed from 6.30am in the morning until the last guests leave the restaurant and bar in the evening, and we have a two-way radio at the reception desk for 24-hour emergency contact.

As soon as the insect issue was brought to our attention the following morning, we treated the villa and then thoroughly cleaned it. The only area we missed was the small enclosed cavity void underneath the stairs that is normally only accessible after moving a shelving unit, which we subsequently cleaned as soon as you brought it to our attention. We have since fully enclosed and sealed this cavity which we do not normally access.

In relation to cleanliness, your villa is located right on the beach and it is sometimes difficult to keep all sand out of the villa, particularly if guests spend a large amount of time moving between the villa and the beach enjoying the beach and water activities We do however have foot bowls placed outside your villa to help reduce the amount of sand entering the villa.

Our villas are serviced twice daily during your stay, once in the morning for a full service and once in the evening for a turndown service. Our housekeeping team thoroughly clean all floors and surfaces during their morning service, however any sand that enters the villa after this morning service will not be cleaned until the following morning (unless otherwise requested which we are happy to do).

We regularly undertake laundry cleaning for guests and we have not had any previous issues in relation to the quality of our service, and are sorry the service was not to your required standards on this occasion.

We are glad you enjoyed the balance of your stay and thank you for your comments in relation to our cuisine, wine selection, activities and the general Bedarra experience.

We truly regret that your negative experiences impacted the balance of your otherwise positive stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you and your family enjoy the balance of your journey in Australia.

Warm regards

Geoffrey Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The owner has done a great job finding staff that enjoys serving the public, and, interestingly, they love the accommodations and work environment. I have an intestinal condition that rarely occurs, but it came up one day while there, and I thought I would just tough it out until we left, after all, its an island. The staff of it own accord said, let us take you to the mainland, we will call and make a doctor's appointment for you. In 15 minutes I was in a golf cart like carrier being whisked off to the boat, arrived at the beach headland, the resort car was waiting for me, and off I went to the doctor. This is the type of service you can expect on this island. The rooms are wonderful, the views are marvelous and the food and wine are very well put together. There were a couple of small things, it was summer so we had the windows open and the fan on, but the interior blinds banged against the window frame and floor; my guess, the resort will anchor these very soon. The shower floor were a little slippery, but they said put the shower towel down on the floor, and that worked fine; everyday I had a new towel mat to use. Anyway, we would go back in a heartbeat. We recommend this place to anyone thinking of getting away from traveling around the country who just want a few days of relaxation, you will be pleased with your decision.

Room Tip: Some rooms have some steps leading to them, so if you have a physical impairment let the staff know early.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovegolfsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Bedarra is a place I only thought existed in dreams...just the most exquisite, picturesque, perfect place tucked away in the most beautiful corner of the earth. I don't think we could have found anywhere on the globe more special for our honeymoon. The arrival by helicopter was so glamorous, as was being greeted by Geoff, the fantastic manager, and then being led to a magnificent private area for lunch. Our villa (#13) had the most terrific views of the beach and Dunk Island in the distance and from the balcony at night you could see the most gorgeous stars. Each meal was, as my husband would say, phenomenal - our favorites being a barramundi with squid ink pasta and a beef filet, oh and a sushi lunch by Steve that was nothing short of perfect. Each day we enjoyed the beach and the pool (since we didn't have a plunge pool in our villa we found ourselves the only people at the stunning main pool), and one day we loved taking a boat out to nearby Wheeler Island for some snorkeling and swimming. The staff...wow, how amazing are they? The entire team made us feel at home start to finish. Everyone knew our names and made sure we were having the absolute best time. Special thanks to Lance for all of his knowledge, kindness, and for his wonderful sense of humor...you made our stay extra memorable. We absolutely could not recommend Bedarra more for anyone looking for the trip of a lifetime! Sending lots of thanks from New York City.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fcgooditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The only place better than Bedarra is Heaven. Or maybe Bedarra is Heaven - after my recent stay I'm not sure. Luxury, privacy, gorgeous location, fabulous food - this place has it all. This is among the world's finest island getaways.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rapido101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews