We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lazy tropical island, swim with turtles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there in Sept 2017 and the place wasn't very busy. The resort itself is fine, but the rooms do have a bit of a musty smell. We left our windows open pretty much 24/7 so that wasn't too bad.

We had the buffet dinner at Zephyrs and the meal was nice, nothing extraordinary, but good value for money.

We went snorkeling and swam with turtles and rays, as well as reef fish and the waters were warm and clear, the reef is a little disappointing, but it is very shallow and so its a little washed out.

Foxy's is nice place to hang out, but as with any captured market the prices were a little on the expensive side, but then again, everything has to be ferried in!

We went for a walk to Nudey beach and there is less coral on the beach so much easier to walk barefoot.

Overall a nice tropical island that caters for everyone

Room Tip: Ocean view room obviously is premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a Welcome Bay Suite which is really a well appointed apartment with all the modern conveniences you could possibly want with a great view out over the water. On the top level, it had a very adequate balcony and there is no access problem as there is a lift for those that need it. Looks like it was designed as a 6 star facility! Just a short walk over to the beach and snorkelling.
Why not a top score?
It was an apartment with all mod cons... but the resort does NOT have a shop that supports that concept. The shop has the absolute minimum of food items that you could use in your apartment. Milk, eggs and a few other small items and some limited takeaway. If you want to use the facility to its capability you need to BYO meat, vegetables, cereal, etc, (almost everything) (BYO alcohol not permitted). If you are prepared this is not a problem - the ferry will bring anything you can carry - but if you catch the early ferry you might not get in until 2pm so remember cooling.
Beware of the ants! Not an island specific problem - but North Queensland has these tiny brown ants, almost impossible to kill, who will invade anything you leave out in an unsealed container - or not in the fridge. Or you could just eat them....
HOWEVER - If you do not want to bring your own food and cater for yourself - the island restaurants offer a fair range at prices about equivalent to downtown Cairns.
The BYO alcohol provision is a bit harsh for wine drinkers as there is not a great range available which is actually understandable. I believe they should allow BYO wine for in-room consumption at the very least and/or impose a corkage like some cruise lines - one free bottle per person and then an amount per bottle if consumed in the restaurant. Beers and spirits appear to be well catered,

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank austravlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Glad we arrived at the ferry terminal on a fine day, as there is no cover at the end where you wait for the Fitzroy Fast Cat. Luggage was handled on and off by staff and waiting for us at reception where you queue for service. We were told our room couldn't be guaranteed until 2pm which we were fine with. Our mobile was taken down so they could phone when it was ready. We left our luggage in the holding room and wandered around. After seeing lots of others from our ferry taking their luggage to their rooms we decided to move closer to reception. We waited and weren't acknowledged, so waited until close to 2pm, when we were finally asked, 'are you waiting on your room? 'Oh it's ready'. Our mobile wasn't called. We booked an Ocean Suite Room, which required us to have the lights on at all times, as it was dark and dank. When we returned to the room after a walk to the beach, we noticed a musty smell. It wasn't nice. We had an enjoyable dinner at Zephyr Restaurant, where we sat outside, as inside was cafeteria looking and had no atmosphere. That night we heard constant heavy footsteps from the room above, up and down, and even knew when they went to bed! Mattress was ordinary. Same the next morning, footsteps above, very annoying! After mentioning to reception next day after breakfast about the musty smell, we were told they would use an ozone spray and we would need to be out of the room for 45mins. No problem. Because of this I think our room wasn't made up and at 4pm and 5pm we asked when it would be. We were told someone was coming to do it. A chap who was new and didn't know what to do, dumped towels on the lounge bench and put toiletries in the bathroom. The problem seems to be that the young house keeping staff, most of whom seem to be backpackers, return on the afternoon ferry and there is no one to clean after that! We had takeaway from Foxy's Bar that night which is like a place you'd pass on an island drive around the outskirts of Bali or Thailand. The food was good but a bit exy for bar food. That night we opened the dishwasher to clean up and coachroaches escaped from it! Same that night, heavy footsteps and scraping of chairs from above. DON'T TAKE A ROOM ON THE BOTTOM FLOOR! The smell returned next day as the ozone spray only masked it for a short time. This must be something they have to do on a regular basis as they have a sign made up which they put outside when the room is being treated. They say it's due to rainforest, but we lived in one for 17 years and didn't have that problem. There wasn't enough cross ventilation in our room. They did ask us if we wanted to move, but we didn't want to pack everything up again, so we decided to cut our losses and head back after staying 3 nights instead of 4. We had a lovely 3 nights in Cairns beforehand and booked another night there before heading back home. We stayed that night at the Holiday Inn and the welcoming aroma in reception and friendly staff made us sigh and laugh!
The Island 'Resort' needs updating, it's tired looking, lacks atmosphere and staff need to be trained better. The day before we left the housekeeping staff were in and out of our room in 5 mins. We sat on the balcony to keep out of the way as they were early probably due to me asking the day before that they didn't forget to clean our room ect day! Towels were changed, toiletries updated. No sweeping of floors or balcony. Quite ordinary. To class this as a 'resort' is a stretch!
We had hoped to enjoy our stay there due to the fact we had to cancel our Europe trip and were looking forward to a relaxing week in an Australian resort instead of one in Asia, where they really know how to look after you and are welcoming.
As there is mostly coral, little sand, at the front and on Nudey Beach, it isn't the place to stay if you enjoy laying on the towel for an extended period!
The area this resort is in is lovely, but the accomodation and staff need a great deal of improvement. Another couple we met on the return ferry had exactly the same feeling as us. They were extremely disappointed too, so this isn't isolated.
The 'turtle man', as he was happy to be called, was excellent and informative and we enjoyed seeing the turtle rehabitation area. They are doing a wonderful job there.
To finish this very long review, which I felt I had to write, if you are after somewhere to go for the day, then it's probably an interesting place, even with an hour ferry each way.
Staying any longer, maybe just one night!

Room Tip: The top floor only. Ground floor smelly and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank toulouse874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were two couples in a 2 bedroom apartment. One room was a studio room with access to the other larger area with lounge, kitchen, balcony etc. Coin toss gave us the studio room and we found it very claustrophobic and a bit noisy with board walk outside. Thankfully we had use of the other facilities. Lounge, kitchen and balcony were great and second level was good.
A beautiful place to visit although food options not great. Probably best to bring food with you. The shop was pitiful was hardly any supplies. Walks and swimming good. Unfortunately it was a bit windy so snorkeling was not good as a nit murky.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful island! Great for hiking and exploring some of the Reef. Lots of sea turtles. I would definitely recommend sneakers hiking boots for this trip. It's very hard on your feet due to the steep incline of the mountain and the coral on the beaches.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank sjohowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
22.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
39.4 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
24.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
22.2 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,283 reviews
22.3 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range: RM393 - RM1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing