We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our first trip to Hamilton Island. We were told on arrival at the marina that we had been given an upgrade from our Premium Palm Bungalow to a Coral Sea View room in the Reef view Hotel due to over booking. We accepted the first night in the Hotel but requested the stay the second night in the Bungalows.
They are two very different styles of accomodation. Hotel rooms are bigger and offer lovely views from the balcony. We were on the 8th floor. But there can be noise from adjoining rooms. They only have a fridge with no plates or cutlery. We were in room 813 and we found the mattress hard and uncomfortable.
We spent our second night in Bungalow no.32 and this was more to our style. More comfortable bedding and despite not having a view the Bungalows offer a kitchenette with crockery and cutlery which will allow you to purchase your own foods,. Also they are more peaceful and the hammock on the porch is a nice way to spend the afternoon relaxing with a quiet drink.
So depending on your getaway I hope this helps

Room Tip: See above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hi matho67,

I was very interested to read your balanced and thoughtful feedback and delighted that you had such a good experience in your Palm Bungalow. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with your assessment of the two different types of accommodation that you tried. Reef View Hotel is our most popular option and offers beautiful views of the ocean, a 35 metre swimming pool, room service and free Wi-Fi hotspots. Its central location also means that it is just a short stroll to most activities on Hamilton Island. As you said, Palm Bungalows offers a more private and peaceful option and is perfect for visitors looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and relax in their own outdoor hammock.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Yours,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    169
    42
    16
    8
See reviews for
94
316
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked the Palm Bungalows via WOTIF's website, having seen the newly refurbished layout in the photos. When we arrived at the island we were told by the concierge at the airport we'd been 'upgraded' to the Reef Hotel (a 1980s, Russian housing-style monstrosity). We checked in and again told we'd been given an upgrade on the 9th floor. When I asked what the benefit was the desk assistant said that the only difference was that the bungalow had a microwave but if we wanted one we could probably get on in the reef hotel room. I did a quick check on Trip Advisor and back on Wotif and saw that the Reef Hotel is inferior and actually at that time was $50 a night cheaper. So much for the upgrade. I insisted we were given the bungalow and thank god I did. The room is very nice and things like a hammock on the porch, wallabies and possums on the grass opposite and short walk to the pool and beach make it infinitly more appealing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hi Colin B,

Thanks very much for your review. I’m happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay in one of our Palm Bungalows and had an opportunity to get up close with our native wildlife. On the rare occasion when we have availability in Coral Sea View Rooms at the Reef View Hotel we like to reward our guests with an upgrade as a token of our appreciation that they have chosen to holiday on Hamilton Island. Our Coral Sea View rooms are always popular due to the spacious rooms and amazing views of the Coral Sea from the balcony. The Reef View Hotel is a 4 star hotel and a more expensive option than the Palm Bungalows so the upgrade offered to you was bonafide.
I apologise if this wasn’t communicated to you clearly enough and you felt that the upgrade was being forced on you. However, I’m glad that you were delighted with the Palm Bungalows and that you were able to experience the privacy of a garden cabin amongst our beautiful flora and fauna.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,


Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed on hamilto Island for 5 nights in November with our 18 month old son. Palm bungalows was the perfect accomodation, although essentially very basic in terms of a room with small kitchen area and bathroom it was perfect for what we needed, especially when the island is designed for you to be outside.
The island is on teh expensive side but the beaches, Pools abnd variety of places to eat make it a perfect destination for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rwyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

When travelling to Hamilton Island for the first time and wanting to do everything there is on offer eg. Reefworld, kayaking, jetskiing, snorkelling etc. one does not spend much time in ones room, except to sleep. For this reason, the Palm Bungalows are the best value for money, as it is centrally located, offers a clean, modern room with all the perks of hotel service. A buffet breakfast was included in my package, so I would recommend Sails and the Reef Terrace Restaurant. I would also recommend the On The Edge cruise which stops at Whitehaven and allows you to snorkel on the Reef. Your trip to paradise does not have to be costly, as the Palm Bungalows is also a self-contained unit, so you are able to make meals in the room if you choose. I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

It's true that Hamilton Island isn't a cheap place. However, it's possible to have a great experience without needing to expend a huge amount of money.
And the first tip is to stay at the Palm Bungalows Hotel. You'll have a nice and big room next to some of the resort restaurants and near to the beach.
If you don't mind walking, then you'll be able to reach the main island attractions from the bungalows, by foot or by the free coach transport.
Hamilton Island and Palm Bungalows are a good option for those who like beach sports and to rest at a swimming pool.
The island is plenty of recepcionist to help the travellers and most of the restaurants can charge the bill at the room account. So you don't need to carry a big amount of cash all the time.
It's possible to find birds at the bungalows terraces and it also possible to see some bats along the sunset, but they are all inoffencive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.3 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.7 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
11.0 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.0 km away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bungalows

Property: Palm Bungalows
Address: 3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price range (per night): RM1,208 - RM1,478
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Bungalows comprise 49 freestanding island bungalows situated in a tropical garden setting,each with its own balcony and outdoor furniture. Rooms are spacious and specifically designed for couples or small families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Palm Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Bungalows Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Bungalows Whitsunday Islands/Hamilton Island, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing