We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Reise ”
Review of Desert Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Wunderbarerer Zweitagetrip nach Coober Pedy! Awful! Never forget! Rent a car at the reception. Transfer to the airport no problem! Nice people. Great point: have visited the underground church That’s a good accommodation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Jürgen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thanks for your review its great to hear you had a great stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Room was adequate, some power points failed. This place needs a good refurbishment, to get to the restaurant you HAVE to climb several steep flights of stairs, no lift available but don't bother as the food despite being pricey was substandard.

Room Tip: Try one of the other Coober Pedy offerings
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gorjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

I am sorry your stay with us was not up to standard, have had all power points &
power cords checked and tag over your period of stay so will check into this.
We take pride in the service we offer and will past on your comments to our restaurant
staff & chefs plus housekeeping/front office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The room was acceptable, and easy to access (We wanted above ground) but for the cost, it was pretty ordinary.

We had lunch in the Crystal Cave cafe, which was a pleasant surprise - it was very nice, and the service was excellent.

There is a very nice restaurant, Umberto's, upstairs at the hotel, and we dined there one night. Once again, the service was excellent, and the meals very good. The menu and wine list is good also.

We would definitely eat at both the restaurant and cafe again. They are open to the public also.

There are several souvenir and opal shops in the hotel which are well worth a visit, and there is an underground walkway which shows some of the history of Coober Pedy. We enjoyed looking at all of these places.

The hotel will make bookings for visits to other sites for you. Coober Pedy is certainly an interesting place of contrasts.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your Review it great to here your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We booked one of the underground rooms which was large with a decent bathroom ut a bit on the pricy side. Once the lights were out though it was really strange as there was no light at all and even after dawn nothing to wake you up - it was pitch black. An alarm clock was definitely required.
We had no heating or air con but the temperature was just constant.
The cafe for breakfast was very good and the restaurant very good but a litle on the expensive side.
Nice underground bar but I would have preferred tap beer instead of bottles although the bar prices were reasonable.
Nice pool to relax in after a day touring the area.
Finally the hotel provided transport to and from the airport which is needed as there are no taxis.

Room Tip: underground room a must to get some of the Coober Pedy experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxim3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comments, the underground rooms are an experience
for all to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed in an underground room and loved it! The bathroom needed a little upgrading, and the tiling finished, however this was not an issue as we loved the whole experience.
Breakfast Tip: Make sure you visit their cafe for breakfast. $15 per person for a continental breakfast, perfect.

Room Tip: An underground room for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L0ve2H0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your Review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
276 reviews
2 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
0.5 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: RM 404 - RM 876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing