We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
72
115
53
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
115
53
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground barunderground roomabove groundno liftmini barunderground tunnelhistorical displaysflights of stairsopal shopoutback townlamb shankhotel roomenjoyable stayunique experienceopal fieldsthe main streetsleeping underground
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Room was adequate, some power points failed. This place needs a good refurbishment, to get to the restaurant you HAVE to climb several steep flights of stairs, no lift available but don't bother as the food despite being pricey was substandard.

Room Tip: Try one of the other Coober Pedy offerings
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gorjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

I am sorry your stay with us was not up to standard, have had all power points &
power cords checked and tag over your period of stay so will check into this.
We take pride in the service we offer and will past on your comments to our restaurant
staff & chefs plus housekeeping/front office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The room was acceptable, and easy to access (We wanted above ground) but for the cost, it was pretty ordinary.

We had lunch in the Crystal Cave cafe, which was a pleasant surprise - it was very nice, and the service was excellent.

There is a very nice restaurant, Umberto's, upstairs at the hotel, and we dined there one night. Once again, the service was excellent, and the meals very good. The menu and wine list is good also.

We would definitely eat at both the restaurant and cafe again. They are open to the public also.

There are several souvenir and opal shops in the hotel which are well worth a visit, and there is an underground walkway which shows some of the history of Coober Pedy. We enjoyed looking at all of these places.

The hotel will make bookings for visits to other sites for you. Coober Pedy is certainly an interesting place of contrasts.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your Review it great to here your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We booked one of the underground rooms which was large with a decent bathroom ut a bit on the pricy side. Once the lights were out though it was really strange as there was no light at all and even after dawn nothing to wake you up - it was pitch black. An alarm clock was definitely required.
We had no heating or air con but the temperature was just constant.
The cafe for breakfast was very good and the restaurant very good but a litle on the expensive side.
Nice underground bar but I would have preferred tap beer instead of bottles although the bar prices were reasonable.
Nice pool to relax in after a day touring the area.
Finally the hotel provided transport to and from the airport which is needed as there are no taxis.

Room Tip: underground room a must to get some of the Coober Pedy experience
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comments, the underground rooms are an experience
for all to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed in an underground room and loved it! The bathroom needed a little upgrading, and the tiling finished, however this was not an issue as we loved the whole experience.
Breakfast Tip: Make sure you visit their cafe for breakfast. $15 per person for a continental breakfast, perfect.

Room Tip: An underground room for sure!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L0ve2H0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence J, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your Review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

A perfectly located hotel, with very friendly staff. Great amenities for your stay.
Easy to walk to all parts of town. Eat in ,or dine out.
Large room,with all you need.
There is an underground shop,and displays of how opals are mined,and the history of the area.
Cafe close at hand. Bar and happy hour at night.

Room Tip: I chose an above ground room, with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you for your great review and sorry it was not acknowledged earlier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews