We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Underground Bed & Breakfast(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert View Apartments(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
70
114
52
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
114
52
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground roomabove groundno liftmini barunderground tunnelhistorical displaysopal shopflights of stairsoutback townlamb shankhotel roomenjoyable stayunique experienceopal fieldsthe main streetsleeping undergroundbottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Hey, it was hot! So we were disappointed with our dugout room with only a fan...found it to be stuffy with poor air quality. However, we didn't spend much time in the room. Hotel is in the center of town, has a helpful staff, and has quite good historical displays underground, along with shops and restaurant/bar, and there's a great pizza place just across the road. This hotel is one of the best places to stay in Coober Pedy. Nate was one of our favorite staff members, and he took us out on a little SUV tour of the surrounding area one day. He entertains with local history and shows much of what there is to see in town and the surrounding areas (opal fields, the infamous sheep fence, desert golf course, underground church, etc).

Room Tip: Above ground rooms with air conditioning are recommended, but we stayed in the dugout room for the experience!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

HI Beth
Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Desert Cave Hotel.
The season is very hot and we are investigating ways to increase air flow to the underground rooms. The temperature in the rooms remains fairly constant during the year but on still days with little air movement it can feel a little stifling. Still this is the Coober Pedy that the locals have come to live with.
Your comment on your tour will be passed on to the guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Would recommend this hotel, great location.has bar, pokies, resturant, great pizza just over the road. easy walking distance to shops ect ect. under ground rooms are a bit different than above rooms but hey its coober pedy and you goto do it once.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bruce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thanks for you great review.
Looking forward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Disappointing start with room but ends well. Booked an underground room. It was so hot and stuffy. This surely could not be normal - wasn't it supposed to be 'cooler' underground? There was something terribly wrong with the room, it smelt funky and had no air circulation apart from a cheap small plastic wall mounted fan for a very large room!! We let front desk know, they were very accommodating and offered us an upstairs room with aircon as no other underground rooms were available. The above ground room was superb!! Bliss. We were worried about staying in an above room as it would be too hot - don't make the same mistake! You can very comfortably stay above ground here. Staying underground is more of a novelty. We moved to another underground room the next 2 nights which was so much better, didn't smell, had great air circulation and a metal fan! Much better. We were able to look into rooms when being cleaned and some layouts were better than others and the size varied. We had an issue with the shower in the second underground which was fixed promptly. We used the pool which was clean and dined at breakfast in the cafe which was good. The hotel also has an opal shop and a tour and information on the area which was really good. Would recommend this hotel, great location too.

Room Tip: Staying underground is a novelty and fun but not a necessity.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hi Olivia.
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the stay.
The ventilation in the underground rooms needs the extractor fan in the bathroom to be on to draw out air and allow for circulation. The aircon in the above ground rooms are indeed a necessity and provide a comfortable temperature.
Following this being brought to our attention we will now try to ensure that the extractor fans are left on when we prepare the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Been meaning to try the Desert Cave Hotel over many previous trips and have mixed feelings about the experience. Located in the center of town, easy walking distance to everything. Secure, off-street parking. Many fascinating aspects to the Hotel, well worth a visit even if you aren’t staying there. Underground opal shop, bar and pokies. Underground tunnel has fascinating historical displays. Above ground restaurant for fine dining with new, comprehensive menu, adjoining conference room and outdoor observation platform. Most of the rooms are above ground.
Much of the accommodation in Coober Pedy is not fully underground; the rooms are dug into the hill and then an exterior wall is added, often with inadequate/no insulation. ‘Dug-outs’ do not get the full cooling benefit of fully underground rooms. Only a few of the Desert Cave rooms are fully underground.
Unfortunately we booked an underground room but were given a ‘dug-out’ with significant outside heat coming through the outside wall through the bathroom. Room temperature was around 28 degrees and the only cooling was a single fan. Only small ceiling vents (unusual in Coober Pedy) mean the heat can’t escape. The heat made for an uncomfortable night, which overshadowed the otherwise good room amenities. King size bed was firm but comfortable. WiFi didn’t work in room. Fridge and mini-bar services were good. Would only consider staying there again if room was fully underground or the room was air conditioned.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for you review and the favourable comments on the hotel.
Please contact me if you are travelling again and i will do my utmost to meet your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Desert Cave Hotel is a beautiful oasis in the desert. Large, clean, well-appointed rooms, a huge bathroom, very comfortable bed and curtains that actually shut out the light - which is a rare find in hotels - were just some of the highlights. Centrally located in the main street of town, it is handy to restaurants & cafes, galleries, ATM, service station and grocery store. The pool was a blessing at the end of a hot day's driving. Would recommend and stay again if I should find myself out this way again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KAOSabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope the future will see your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews