We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramen and sashimi!!”
Review of Rin

Rin
Ranked #85 of 687 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and i stumbled across this place by chance. We didnt book and were lucky to score a seat on a saturday night.

We had the soy ramen each and a salmon sashimi to share. It was delicious!! Very fresh and well presented. The atmosphere was great and the staff are very nice.

Great dinner overall! Would happily go back as a regular if i lived here.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank shanejonathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2015

You need to book to go to Rin - The restauarant is unassuming but very popular.

Thoroughly enjoyed the Bento Box and entrees that we ordered. Well worth going to.

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Rin is a terrific Japanese restaurant located a short distance from the Hobart CBD, The menu, both dining in and take away is extensive and the food varied authentic and delicious. This can be accompanied by a range of beers and wines both from Japan or local and a selection of sake for those who enjoy this beverage. Soft drinks and tea / coffee are also on the menu. The restaurant is small (30 seater) and the atmosphere pleasant but there is one drawback. The furniture is quaint, wooden and varied but some of the tables have rails across the base of the legs making them rather uncomfortable especially for someone like me … tall, long legged and handicapped. We tried three tables before I could sit with comfort.

Date of visit: February 2015
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We had lunch here for my birthday a while back and cannot fault the service, food or venue. We sat in the sunshine and ate off beautiful plates, even posted Instagram photos of it. Going to dinner tomorrow night so I'll report on that meal too

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BecFredGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile

The staff is really nice and caring.

The Takoyaki were realy good but the sushi was close to inedible.

The rice was more a porridge than decent sushi rice, totally overcooked, the fish dos not seem to be fresh, the wasabi is the cheapest wasabi that you can get in Asian supermarkets and the miso soup did not contain tofu or wakame, it was plain!

Would not recommend this restaurant if you're used to good sushi.

3  Thank 147sabrinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rin also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Rin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing