We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astor Private Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
213
80
12
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
80
12
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite roomshared bathroomastor grillnever stay anywhere elseolde worldchain hotelshome away from homecontinental breakfast isyour luggagemacquarie stfresh milkcharming hotelairport shuttleplace to staybudget accommodationother guestssalamanca markets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed for two nights at this friendly and clean Bed & Breakfast. We spent a full day walking around Hobart and saw all we had planned from this central location. The atmosphere at the hotel is very friendly. Breakfast is basic.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an ensuite. Some have a shared toilet. Be sure to specify you want a room with an ensuite.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard_VanBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Stayed here whilst at MOFO and loved it. The Astor is a special type of hotel, old world charm right in the middle of Hobart. Tildy, the owner, looks after everything and everyone with absolute care and good humour, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and whilst some have en-suites, we were very happy to share the lovely bathrooms and showers along the hallways. We can't recommend this place highly enough. It was our first stay, however we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leopat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We had accommodation for the week in the north of Tasmania, however we were going to do a day trip to Port Arthur and Hobart. It turned out it was too far to go and see everything in one day. We arrived in Hobart without accommodation booked - a lot of places were booked up, even though it was a Monday and shouldn't have been that busy. We were tired and losing hope of finding a place, then like a mirage in the mist, the Astor stood before us. My husband went in to ask if there was a room available. Tildy (manager) said there was. I went to look at the room, it took my breath away - the decor was stunning. Retro but tasteful. All the furnishings were elegant like from a byegone era. Tildy couldn't do enough for us, We only had our day pack with things for a day out, so no toiletries. Tildy gave us toothbrushes and paste etc. I will definitely come back, we will book that room again before we leave home and stay about 5 nights in Hobart. Breakfast was cereals, toast etc but elegantly laid out and guests just helped themselves. Was very relaxed in keeping with the general atmosphere of this place, which gave it so much charm.

Room Tip: A double room on the first floor with ensuite.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I absolutely loved staying here. It's a sweet old building with lots of charm and character. Feels like you're staying in someone's home. Tildy is extremely welcoming, helpful with tips on where to eat, etc, and she's HILLARIOUS! She kept me in stitches the whole time. Great location. Great price. Airport shuttle drops you right around the corner, so easy access to the airport. I would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

This hotel was extremely clean, well looked after and the host Tildy couldn't have been more helpful ,what a great location, right in the middle of town, close to shopping,Salamanca,and waterfront in Hobart.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews